The North Tonawanda Common Council will have one new member when the city's elected officials take their oaths of office in January.

Robert Schmigel, a Republican, has been elected to fill the first ward alderman position, according to unofficial election results from the Niagara County Board of Elections. The seat is currently occupied by Mark Berube, who chose not to seek re-election this year. Schmigel defeated challenger Adam Dickey, a Democrat.

Republican incumbents Robert Pecoraro, Donna Braun and Eric Zadzilka will all return for new terms as alderman-at-large, second ward alderwoman and third ward alderman respectively.

In the alderman-at-large race, Pecoraro took 3,050 votes, while challenger Bob Brennan, an Independent, took 2,866 votes. Schmigel defeated Dickey by a margin of 987 to 827 in the first ward race.

In the second ward race, incumbent Braun defeated Democrat Zachary Niemiec with 840 votes to Niemeic's 750. And in the third ward race, current Council President Zadzilka defeated challenger Edward Smolinski, and Independent, by a vote of 1,337 to 1,208.

North Tonawanda voters also chose to formally elect Matthew Parish as city clerk/treasurer. Parish has been serving in the role for the last year, but was appointed by the mayor after the resignation of former Clerk/Treasurer Daniel Quinn and needed to win an election in order to continue in the position. .

Parish, an Independent, defeated Libertarian opponent Nicholas Phelps by a vote of 3,207 to 2,751.

Recommended for you