Editor’s note: This story was published previously with the incorrect date.

Staff reports

The LaSalle Educational Club will host its 38th annual scholarship and awards banquet Friday.

The keynote speaker for the event will be Eddie Scott, a Niagara Catholic High School graduate who now works as principal of a middle school in Maryland and whose grandmother was a member of the club in the late 1950s.

Students receiving scholarships of between $200 and $800 include Alissa B. Todd, Erin Tweed, Delorian Sanders, Adrianna Ryles, Faith Colvin, Fredia Hart, Jaimie Grozio, Timothy O’Brien, Bianca Holifield and Yashica Benson.

Being honored at the banquet will be Boys and Girls Club volunteer Marilyn Lyman, Niagara Falls School Board member Russell Petrozzi and City Councilman Robert Anderson. These people will be recognized for their contributions to youth education, the group said in a release.

The club’s philosophy, instilling the value of education from a young age, means that students as young as 3 years old are involved. The club also counts among its members students, parents, educators and other prominent community members.

Hostesses for the evening will include Mary Johnson, Valarie Dolson, Adrian McQueen, Wilhelmina Jones, Joyce Sanders, Samika Sullivan and Pamela DeVaughn. Larry Martinez, principal of 60th Street Elementary School, will serve as master of ceremonies.