LaSalle Education Club holding 50th anniversary event

Photo submitted by M. HamiltonThe LaSalle Education Club is holding its 50th anniversary celebration on June 14 at Antonio's Restaurant Banquet & Conference Center in Niagara Falls. Pictured here, from left to right, are teacher of the Year Kristen Martell, kindergarten teacher from Harry F. Abate School, Community Service Award recipient Rhonda Bivins-Talley, case manager from Orleans-Niagara BOCES, and humanitarian award winner, the Rev. Dr. Charles Searcy 

Members of the LaSalle Educational Club will celebrate 50 years of helping youth in the community seek higher education by means of sponsoring college scholarships.

The anniversary program is scheduled for 6 p.m. June 14 at Antonio's Restaurant Banquet & Conference Center, 7708 Niagara Falls Blvd. 

As a highlight of the evening program the club will recognize Kristen Martell, kindergarten teacher from Harry F. Abate Elementary School, who will receive the LaSalle Educational Club 2019 Teacher Award; Rhonda Bivins-Talley, case manager for the Orleans Niagara BOCES, who will receive the Community Service Award and the Rev. Charles Searcy, Spiritual Care Minister of Our Lady of Peace, who will receive the humanitarian award.

The awardees of this year scholarships are Ciara Jordan, recipient of the top scholarship, the Rev. J.M. Bradley ($1,000), Kayleigh McCormick, Nathaniel Reilly, DeAndre Prum-Miles, Makaela Molly, Margaret Bilquin, Kamryn Smith, Grant Asklas, Jy'Ahzhannae Taylor, Arthur Jocoy IV, Samantha Campbell, Gabriella Mitravich, Jack Nadrowski, Matthew Kifer, Thomas Tedessco, Avianna Peterson, Lydia Hedgepeth and Dayona Shackelford.

Club officials say they are blessed to note that Ron Hamilton, a 1989 scholarship recipient who believes in giving back has sponsored the Edward "Pete" Ivey Memorial Scholarship ($800). Ron has also added another scholarship of $700 called the Mercedes L. Crymes Political Science Memorial Scholarship in memory of his goddaughter, Mercedes, a law student who passed away suddenly. The club's scholarships have come from local families who want to memorialize their love ones. The Carter and Coleman family is sponsoring two scholarships in the spirit of their loved one, Shalise Monet Carter, one scholarship will be for $500 and another for $200.

Because of the club is celebrating 50 years under the theme "Pay it forward," which will include past scholarship winners - Stephaine Jones-Houston, 1999 recipient is the keynote speaker, Matthew Laurrie, 2011 awardee is the master of ceremony and 2012 awardee Ikeyah Williams who will sing. As in the past elementary students are active participates, from introducing the keynote speaker to preforming the benediction.

The club's motto is "it takes a village to raise a child" in order to continue the profitable program the club encourages the support of the community, families, educators and local churches.

For banquet ticket, call Linda Hohmann at 286-4205 Niagara Falls Board of Education, or members, Joyce A. Sanders, at 282-3637, or Loretta Hamilton, at 282-5435.