Niagara Gazette


June 13, 2013

Niagara Frontier League coaches, volunteers honored

Niagara Gazette — The member schools of the Niagara Frontier League honored coaches and others who left a significant impact on high school sports in the past year at the league's annual banquet on Wednesday evening.

A coach from every school was selected by their respective schools as a Coach of the Year, while another staff member or volunteer was honored with the Cornerstone Award. 

This year's honorees are:

Grand Island — Coach of the Year: John Head, girls volleyball. Cornerstone Award: Chris Simpson.

Kenmore East — Coach of the Year: Jeff Orlowski, field hockey and girls ice hockey. Cornerstone Award: Paul Catalano.

Kenmore West — Coach of the Year: Carrie Vetter, boys swimming. Cornerstone Award: Town of Tonawanda Paramedics.

Lew-Port — Coach of the Year: Jonathan Hoover, football and wrestling. Cornerstone Award: Ann and Daryl Johnston.

Lockport — Coach of the Year: Greg Bronson, football. Cornerstone Award: Gerry Kapuscinski.

Niagara Falls — Coach of the Year: Martha Amoretti, softball. Cornerstone Award: Jack Prybylski.

Niagara-Wheatfield — Coach of the Year: Kristin Janese, girls tennis. Cornerstone Award: Jamie Better.

North Tonawanda — Coach of the Year: John LeMar, boys and girls tennis. Cornerstone Award: Norman Dauphin.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page