Niagara Gazette

Opinion

Opinion
  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: It all began in 1906 with another small group of worshippers It seems I keep repeating myself as I reflect on another one of our early congregations and their spiritual, physical and financial efforts to establish a house of worship to call their own.

    July 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Shumer seeks place to honor Gen. Donovan The legendary William J. Donovan has lost the high profile that his outstanding service once claimed in downtown Buffalo.

    July 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: We put ourselves in their hands We put ourselves in their hands -- doctors and specialists to whom they refer us, physiotherapists, nurses, lab staff et al. Not to mention road and bridge-repairers (vital in this region of potholes and aging infrastructure), firemen, farmers, food processors, conveyors (i.e., truckers), bus or train drivers, mechanics -- the list is obviously endless!

    July 13, 2014

  • GUEST VIEW: Garbage overhaul too much for overtaxed city residents Mayor Paul Dyster has implemented a new recycling and refuse program for residents and business owners of Niagara Falls, which is a drastic cut in a basic and essential service that the over-taxed residents and business owners of Niagara Falls pay for and deserve to receive.

    July 13, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Recounting the big role 'Woody' played The big-city paper last week carried a lengthy farewell to retired managing editor Elwood Wardlow. He made the obituary pages at the age of 90, after a distinguished career, with this exception:

    July 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Davis, Vincent mug DAVIS: Standing up for winter in Western New York Everybody loves summer. So much so that for nine months of the year Western New Yorkers spend a portion of every day (and a larger portion of their Facebook status updates) complaining about the non-summer weather and pining for July. Who amongst us hasn't seen a picture of a group of friends on a beach pop up on their Facebook/Instagram/Twitter feed with a caption like "me and my crew at the beach last summer, wish we were there right now #TBT (Throw Back Thursday)."

    July 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Another Niagara Falls Boulevard hit-and-run, but who cares? At the city’s intersection of Niagara Falls Boulevard and the I-190 there’s a memorial sign that’s dedicated to a motorcyclist who lost his life at that very spot. I hate signs like that; they are so utterly depressing.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Foschio mug 071114 GUEST VIEW: Tips to put an end to Shaken Baby Syndrome Shaken Baby Syndrome, also known as Abusive Head Trauma, is a form of child abuse in which a caregiver vigorously shakes a child, thereby resulting in traumatic brain injury.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: No quick changes with NY marijuana law

    That medical marijuana bill that Gov. Andrew Cuomo signed into law Monday won’t change things overnight. In fact, it may be early 2016 before eligible patients will be able to use the drug.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Massive hunt for killer ended on Grand Island It was a murder destined to be seared into the conscience of this nation.

    July 6, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page