Niagara Gazette

Opinion

Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Cashing out is no easy task for some Every year about this time, as we calculate our fair share of what our Mainland government is worth and then send them 10 times as much, one of those magazines that starts with "F" (Fortune? Forbes?) publishes one of those lists of what it perceives as the world's richest people, at least in terms of money.

    April 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Quarterback Congressman Jack Kemp and the art of perspective We all must come from someplace, and we all do. Both quarterback Jack Kemp and I did; and then we met together on a stage at the University of Buffalo. The meeting was probably not like you might have suspected.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA adamczyk mug 040414 ADAMCZYK: Another thing wrong with TV It may be the latest in our harbingers of phony springs, but the temperature stayed more-or-less above the point of freezing this week, baseball season began and I saw my first returning bird (I think it was a robin), my first motorcycle (I think it was a Harley) and my first top-down convertible, a drop-top Volkswagen of some sort.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: Women deserve a chance to serve on Lewiston Town Board In the past 10 years, several vacancies have occurred on the Lewiston town board. Each time a vacancy occurs the individual chosen wasn't a woman. Since being incorporated nearly 200 years ago only four women have been elected to serve on the Lewiston town board.

    April 4, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Campaign finance reform falls short of the mark Gov. Andrew Cuomo has again failed on his promise of four years ago to deliver a comprehensive campaign finance reform, considered a major step toward combatting political corruption.

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: See clearly now, the rain is (almost) gone I originally wrote this piece back in 2005. In view of the recent surge of interest and investment in Niagara's future, I thought it might be worth repeating, lest we forget from whence we come:

    April 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug 040214 CONFER: Tax refunds are no reason to be happy A strange thing tends to happen this time of year: taxpayers who should be damning the government end up praising it. These brainwashed souls, numbering in the millions, feel rewarded by what appears to be government benevolence in the form of a tax refund, failing to realize that they are getting back only a little of the money that was rightfully theirs to begin with.

    April 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug 033114 HIGGS: Moving on to St. Peter's Episcopal Church - just a dream in 1823 Back in 1823, Rev. Hopkins, an Episcopalian clergyman from New Jersey arrived in the Village of Niagara Falls and began holding the first Episcopalian services in a little schoolhouse in downtown Niagara Falls and Lewiston.

    March 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Beilein marks winning ways without fanfare One of the biggest names in the world of sports these days is John Beilein whose family roots run deep in Niagara County.

    March 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Conrad mug 033014 GUEST VIEW: Ready to get to work for all of Lewiston I would like to accomplish two things with this letter. The first is to take a moment to thank the Lewiston Town Board, Al Bax, Mike Marra, Ron Winkley, and Supervisor Dennis Brochey for appointing me to the Town Board, filling the vacancy left after Ernie Palmer recently stepped down.

    March 30, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page