Niagara Gazette

Opinion

Opinion
  • • Scheer, Mark mug CITY DESK: Trying to lend a hand Jim Gravelle does everything they tell you to do. He eats right, exercises regularly and doesn't smoke.

    April 7, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church and early life Last time we learned how the Porter family assisted the parish of a small chapel known as Christ Church in downtown Niagara Falls in 1846 by donating two parcels of land, one for a site on which to build a church and one for a parsonage house.

    April 7, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Drones cited for peaceful roles as well Those unmanned aircraft called drones will simply kill innocent people suspected as enemies of the U.S. Even worse, executions will be staged before anyone can enter a plea in a court of law.

    April 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Welcoming an earned spring Oddly and paradoxically, given winter's onslaught this year, you started feeling hints of spring on blazing February days, when birds were busy koffee-klatching upon white ice shards in the Niagara, despite waterfowl being sadly thinned by that same ice covering needed minnows.

    April 6, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Cashing out is no easy task for some Every year about this time, as we calculate our fair share of what our Mainland government is worth and then send them 10 times as much, one of those magazines that starts with "F" (Fortune? Forbes?) publishes one of those lists of what it perceives as the world's richest people, at least in terms of money.

    April 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Quarterback Congressman Jack Kemp and the art of perspective We all must come from someplace, and we all do. Both quarterback Jack Kemp and I did; and then we met together on a stage at the University of Buffalo. The meeting was probably not like you might have suspected.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA adamczyk mug 040414 ADAMCZYK: Another thing wrong with TV It may be the latest in our harbingers of phony springs, but the temperature stayed more-or-less above the point of freezing this week, baseball season began and I saw my first returning bird (I think it was a robin), my first motorcycle (I think it was a Harley) and my first top-down convertible, a drop-top Volkswagen of some sort.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: Women deserve a chance to serve on Lewiston Town Board In the past 10 years, several vacancies have occurred on the Lewiston town board. Each time a vacancy occurs the individual chosen wasn't a woman. Since being incorporated nearly 200 years ago only four women have been elected to serve on the Lewiston town board.

    April 4, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Campaign finance reform falls short of the mark Gov. Andrew Cuomo has again failed on his promise of four years ago to deliver a comprehensive campaign finance reform, considered a major step toward combatting political corruption.

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: See clearly now, the rain is (almost) gone I originally wrote this piece back in 2005. In view of the recent surge of interest and investment in Niagara's future, I thought it might be worth repeating, lest we forget from whence we come:

    April 2, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page