Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 24, 2012

HIGGS: Niagara University: An active ingredient

Niagara Gazette — Last week I introduced you to some of the members of “Higher Education and Their Community Involvement” who received recognition from the Niagara Beautification Commission at its annual Awards Luncheon. This week we meet the active members of the faculty and staff at Niagara University who were also recognized.

Fran Boltz is the director of the NU Learn and Serve program. The purpose of this program at Niagara is “to promote among all members of the university community, the knowledge, values and skills necessary for lifelong engagement in the pursuit of social justice.” Fran’s role is to put this purpose into action and I have known her for several years due to our mutual involvement in the NBC Beautify Niagara citywide cleanup campaign. She works her magic on the student body and many have volunteered a portion of their Saturday to come and help out over the years. Hats off to Fran for all the extra effort she puts into this annual event and others. (She also joins them in their physical labors).

Tom Lowe is the program coordinator of Niagara’s ReNU Niagara community outreach program to assist in neighborhood development, utilizing what is available to improve the quality of life for its residents. Tom coordinates the projects associated with this task and has shown his leadership abilities through their success. Tom also write grants to fund these programs and volunteers during his off hours with Main Street Business Association and the NBC as he serves on both boards: NBC recognized that Tom, although still a young man, is well trained and dedicated to “go places” in the future.

Valerie Haseley is the Niagara County coordinator of services provided by the Border Community SERVICE another outreach program sponsored by Niagara University. Its purpose is to “provide emergency preparedness training to citizens and to encourage their participation in opportunities that enhance regional emergency readiness.” Valerie’s goal is to train the County population in such skills as CERT, neighborhood mapping, creating family emergency plans and drills and basic first aid. She takes her work a step further and often assists outside agencies in these endeavors such as organizing and taking part with volunteers at community events such as the Niagara Air Show.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page