Niagara Gazette

Opinion

June 7, 2013

GUEST VIEW: The purpose of local government

Niagara Gazette — It won’t be long before the candidates for Niagara Falls City Council, me included, will be knocking on your: door asking for your support in their quest to win a seat in our local government. Before you sign their petition or before you pass judgment on a candidate, ask him or her how they will approach their responsibilities as a member of our local government. How much harm has been done by previous elected officials who either didn’t understand or couldn’t be bothered to learn their proper role as a member of the city council?

A local government is responsible not only for emergency services, but also for determining and enforcing safety codes for homes and buildings. The stability of our neighborhoods depends on the effective delivery of inspection services. In order to revitalize our neighborhoods, real collaboration needs to exist between law enforcement, community developers, block clubs, and code enforcement.

A local government is responsible for maintaining access to recreation and park facilities that provide a safe and pleasant environment for our residents. The government is responsible for maintaining and staffing facilities such as sports fields, parks, and swimming pools. Our parks and recreational areas throughout the city should be a priority to enrich the lives of all our citizens. Niagara Falls residents value their parks, therefore in order to improve our parks, I propose we generate new funding and create private and public partnerships. Well-maintained parks will raise the value of nearby homes, attract new residents, and create new neighborhood assets.

A local government must maintain the funding base for a variety of projects that are provided through local taxation, state aid, and federal grants. Private foundation funding is now becoming an important source of new revenues for distressed cities.

Economic and social inequality is often the result of a free-market economy and participatory democracy. As such, local government must establish those agencies that have the purpose of “leveling the playing field” in terms of equality of opportunity. An affordable housing program is one such example of an area where local government can promote opportunity. By taking advantage of federal and state programs that focus on affordable housing, local government becomes the facilitator of community growth.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page