Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 10, 2013

GUEST VIEW: The Sikh's connection to Veterans Day

Niagara Gazette — For many people, Veterans Day is just another day off from work or school. Maybe a free meal from a local restaurant for those who’ve served. Another sale at a big-box store. The significance of the event lost on those who look forward to, what this year will be a long weekend. What they don’t realize is that where Memorial Day was established to honor civil war dead, Veteran’s Day has definite historical importance.

Although the treaty of Versailles was signed June 28, 1919 fighting had actually ceased seven months earlier when an armistice, or temporary cessation of hostilities between allied nations and Germany went into effect. That day was the eleventh hour of the eleventh day of the eleventh month — Nov. 11, 1918.

Armistice day was approved as a legal holiday in 1938. After WWII and American forces fighting in Korea, legislation was approved in 1954 changing the name to Veterans Day to honor American veterans of all wars. In Niagara Falls we have the unique proximity to Canada and offer a nod of thanks to our allies. There are also members of our own community who served as allies, yet they go unnoticed.

It is a little known fact that more Indians volunteered to fight for Britain in WWI than all the Scots, Welsh and Irish combined; up to 1/3 of them Sikh’s despite making up just a fraction of India’s population. As early as September 1914, Indian troops were moving into France to reinforce British troops that had lost a huge number of causalities. Indian troops were on the Western Front by the winter of 1914 and fought at the first Battle of Ypres. In total, 800,000 Indian troops fought in all the theatres of the war including Gallipoli and North and East Africa. By the early 20th century the Sikh’s homeland, Punjab, was providing more than half the troops used in the British-Indian army despite Sikh’s making up just 1% of the county’s population. With the onset of the First World War, Britain found it had a useful new source of war conscript; the enlistment of the Kalsa.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page