Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 24, 2013

GLYNN: The challenge to improving Three Sisters Islands

Niagara Gazette — That $2 million landscape improvement project at Three Sisters Islands had hardly been finished earlier this year when the critics started chirping with that familiar cry, “They should have left it the way it was.” 

Fortunately, that course was never pursued. And, in fact, some of those same critics later changed their minds when they visited the site for a closer look. For the record, a lot of foot traffic — what you’d expect with eight million visitors a year — had taken its toll through the decades. The soil had compacted. Erosion spread everywhere, especially in areas where visitors had ventured too close to the upper rapids, a risky maneuver within several hundred feet of the falls.

The projects at Three Sisters, Luna Island and Prospect Park are all part of the state’s $25 million commitment to revitalize the Niagara Falls State Park. The funds were made available through Gov. Andrew Cuomo’s New York Works program.

•••

IN THE SPOTLIGHT: Mike Duffy, a former broadcast reporter with the CBC and now a member of the Senate in Canada, contends he’s a victim of extortion by the Prime Minister’s Office. Duffy said Tuesday that he was being forced to repay $90,000 over alleged irregularities in his expense accounts or be fired.

The issues that involve two other Senate colleagues of Duffy has all the makings of a mini-Watergate in Ottawa. Sen. Duffy said that when the story first broke he had been assured by Prime Minister Harper’s former chief of staff, Nigel Wright, that he had broke no residency rules. Later, however, the prime minister reportedly said it didn’t matter what Duffy did, it was the perception and that he needed to pay back the money.

Over the years Duffy has received numerous honors for his investigating reporting and commentary for the CBC Television Network. In 1997, he was awarded an honorary Doctor of Letters at Niagara University’s Graduate Commencement.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page