Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 22, 2013

SINGER: Saving the sharks

Niagara Gazette — Libertarianism has positive value, but not for poor sharks who badly need government on their side. “Poor sharks?” Isn’t that an oxymoron?

No way. Thankfully, for sharks knocked off gruesomely in huge numbers, New York — impelled by State Sen. Grisanti’s forthright sponsorship of a bill — has done the right thing; but by a law unfortunately going into effect almost a year from now, still not matched by many other states, and vulnerable to restaurants suing. The law prohibits shark fin commerce or use here. i.e., no more fin soup in these parts, Syracuse, Albany, and most importantly, in the Big Apple. If it makes it against legal challenges, thank the Lord ...

I know — we’ve long thought of sharks as horrid things (think of Spielberg’s “Jaws”), and I realize they’re still featured on popular shows as terrors of the sea, not least, via the Discovery Channel’s annual “Shark Week,” recently viewed by nearly 30 million people. The term “shark” has also been synonymous with ruthless business types. But what’s being done to actual ones in waters around the world is repulsive and heart-rending, and should be considered beyond the pale, even to attorneys looking for a buck.

I can already hear this retort: don’t you eat fish? Haven’t you had a scallop or haddock dinner?

The answer: sure I’m hypocritical, few aren’t in this regard, and I admit I’m guilty each time I open a can of Alaska salmon, thereby procuring Omega-3 fish oil. The only people who can say they’re acting fully on principle are outright vegetarians, refusing categorically to eat what a good friend of mine calls “dead creatures.”

For this fine nurse, we’re all in the chain of life together, and not what a celebrated philosopher once dubbed us — “lords and possessors of the earth.” Of course you might retort that animals, particularly in the Northeast, have been doing well of late, especially Bambis (to the point where there are some 4,000 auto-deer accidents each day in the U.S.!)

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Chronicling crime on the 'Island' Why is Rick Pfeiffer never around when you need him? The guy whose cubicle we shared during the Koop-Jasen-Rice era at Channel 4 now carefully chronicles criminals for the Gazette, notably those a few flakes short of Raisin Bran, but his crime wave is a mere ripple compared to ours.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The mirrors of my grandfather's fingernails What we do or don't do will have a greater impact upon our grandchildren's futures than what you might think.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page