Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 22, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Lewiston looking for real leadership

Niagara Gazette — In his best-selling book, Lee Iacocca asks, where have all the leaders gone? To be honest, these past four years have asked myself that same question as I observe the actions and inactions of the Lewiston Town Board. The recent state and federal investigations at town hall scream one thing, there’s a desperate need for change. I have watched as town board members treat their tenure as if contestants on “Let’s Make A Deal.” Either bartering away public money in order to make deals or sitting silently by doing and saying nothing while deals are bartered.

These past four years we have seen a town board that has yearly voted us deeper and deeper into debt. We have seen a town board that spends hundreds of thousands of public dollars in a wasteful and ridiculous manner. We have seen a town board who has failed to comprehend the real needs and priorities of the community it serves. And we have seen a town board that has shown an ineptness and complacency with regard to the criminal activity happening under their noses.

Leadership is a quality that is natured. It’s a quality that exists within and only surfaces in time of need. Leadership can’t be sold as if it were an item in a store. Money doesn’t create leadership. It is the actions of the individual that makes a leader. Leadership is how an individual responds to a problem and the solutions they present to solve that problem. Leadership is being intellectually curious and informed. Leadership is comprehending the duties of your office so that you can use those duties to better serve your community.

Leadership is taking the time to listen to people and hear their opinion. Leadership is about giving a voice to the voiceless by proposing ideas that benefits an entire community. Leadership is about protecting the public’s property and spending their money wisely. Leadership is about knowing and fulfilling your fiduciary responsibility. And fiduciary responsibility shouldn’t evoke the idea of penny pinching the bottom line but understanding that you have been entrusted with a legal, moral and ethical responsibility to be accountable not only for your actions but the actions of others. Leadership is about showing gravitas when making decisions. And finally, leadership is about showing courage and integrity to correct wrongdoing and unethical behavior especially if you’re an officer of the court or a law enforcement officer.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page