Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 20, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Fed up with unruly students in DeVeaux

Niagara Gazette — For the past two years, homeowners and taxpayers on Clifton Avenue, Lewiston Road, Seymour and Macklem avenues have had to endure the troubling, aggravating and disgusting behavior of drunken, predominately underage, Niagara University students.

On the corner of Clifton Avenue and Lewiston Road is the “Rugby house” and the “Hockey house” on Lewiston Road. The Rugby house has been Niagara University’s largest off-campus party house for the past two school years. Both houses have continuously hosted large, loud and extremely drunken parties. Underage drinking runs rampant at all parties.

In our neighborhood, parking laws are totally ignored during and after the parties. Odd/even parking is a joke. Alleyways, private driveways and even city snowplows have been blocked by student party goers. We have picked up hundreds of beer cans, bottles and plastic cups, dozens of liquor bottles and pounds of garbage. Being woken up in the middle of the night by groups of students flooding the streets and alleys and hosing vomit from our sidewalks is a regular occurrence. My property has been urinated on, defecated on and fornicated on.

Most of the students have changed but this semester has started with police being called to the Rugby house for blowing off M-80’s and fireworks in their backyard. The second incident was reported in the Niagara Gazette police blotter on Sept. 4 as four Niagara University students coming from a Lewiston Road party (the Hockey house) were observed urinating on cars and vandalizing one in the alley between Clifton and Seymour avenues.

The reason these students/children are so brazen, rude and disrespectful is because they know they face absolutely zero consequences for their drunken behavior from the police or from Niagara University.

We have spoken with Dean of Students Carrie McGlaughlin on many occasions. The dean is empathetic and gives the impression that she and the college are being proactive in trying to curb this behavior. If the college has done anything it has had no visible affect whatsoever.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page