Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 20, 2013

HAMILTON: Kashaun Bivins and how Democrats and Republicans fold clothes

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — Kashaun understood. This later became clear to me when I ran into his aunt and told her of my encounter in the laundry. She told me that she was surprised to find that when he recently packed her suitcase for a trip out of town, he did so in “a military fashion!”

His aunt’s fiancé was also a military man, but Kashaun never questioned why the fiancé folded as he did. But he did question me, and he situationally changed the way that he did things because of a conversation that led to understanding.

There was an understanding on my behalf, too; one of introspection — of looking closely at one’s inner thoughts to find reasoning in what one does.

One thing in life often lends itself to many other areas in life, and I thought about the differences in why Democrats prefer things done in a certain way that is different from how Republicans prefer them.

While I have long said that on the municipal level there is no difference between how a Democrat or a Republican repairs a pothole — and that is probably true — there are likely differences in which potholes they repair first, and why.

Both parties care about people. Democrats are more likely to pay closer attention to the potholes where the underprivileged or elderly people live. Republicans are more apt to first concentrate on the roads where those same people are most likely to drive the most miles upon while shopping or going to the doctor. Those latter roads generate the most tax base to help pay for the services for those same underprivileged people, including repairing their potholes.

But in the end, all of the roads may have their potholes filled, the difference being in what one might want to accomplish first. But in order to best serve the purposes of the public, the two groups must have the conversation of understanding; and like Kashaun, situationally changing their method to fit the varying situations.

By the way, because of understanding Kashaun’s situationally purposeful folding, I have been practicing folding my clothes in the way that the he taught me.

Contact Ken Hamilton at kenhamilton930@aol.com.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page