Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 19, 2013

GUEST VIEW: City officials have failed the neighborhoods

Niagara Gazette — Recently, the owner of the former Eleanor Apartments submitted applications to turn their building located at the corner of Pine Avenue and 8th Street, into a boarding home for 140 people. The city has failed to protect our neighborhoods.

After a two-year struggle at city hall, in July 2012, the Group Housing Ordinance was adopted. When properly and effectively enforced, it is an effective tool to protect vulnerable populations and maintain the integrity of our neighborhoods.

Group Housing continues to be a troubling and growing concern in neighborhoods across the city. It has created unsafe situations and over-crowded living conditions. It has caused a significant increase in nuisance properties, vagrancy and criminal behavior, unhealthy and unsanitary conditions.

The ordinance defines terms that seem rather harmless and inviting; bed and breakfast, boarding home, sorority/fraternity, group home, halfway house and homeless residential facility. Left unattended, the city created and permitted, the opportunity for warehousing people. Unsuspecting tourists, homeless individuals, chronically mentally ill persons, immigrant workers and students are just a small portion of people who endure poor group living situations.

Many projects fall outside the jurisdiction of Niagara County and the state of New York due to “size” regulations and seldom do these agencies provide active oversight. This places the burden, responsibility and liability on the city of Niagara Falls. The lack of oversight and regulation has caused the illegal and non-conforming use of properties, oversaturation and concentrations in residential communities, and continues to cause a significant concern for the health and safety of vulnerable populations.

The primary objective and duty of the Building Inspections Department (Code Enforcement) is to “protect the public safety through the enforcement of the New York State Uniform Fire Prevention and Building Code together with all local codes and ordinances.”

How many young international “hostellers” will arrive at a youth hostel, only to find it is a “house for unemployed and homeless” people with “bedbugs covering every bed?” How many parents will send their children to illegal, unlicensed and uninspected summer camps? The price some have paid is high, when the city fails to enforce the law.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page