Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 19, 2013

GUEST VIEW: City officials have failed the neighborhoods

Niagara Gazette — Recently, the owner of the former Eleanor Apartments submitted applications to turn their building located at the corner of Pine Avenue and 8th Street, into a boarding home for 140 people. The city has failed to protect our neighborhoods.

After a two-year struggle at city hall, in July 2012, the Group Housing Ordinance was adopted. When properly and effectively enforced, it is an effective tool to protect vulnerable populations and maintain the integrity of our neighborhoods.

Group Housing continues to be a troubling and growing concern in neighborhoods across the city. It has created unsafe situations and over-crowded living conditions. It has caused a significant increase in nuisance properties, vagrancy and criminal behavior, unhealthy and unsanitary conditions.

The ordinance defines terms that seem rather harmless and inviting; bed and breakfast, boarding home, sorority/fraternity, group home, halfway house and homeless residential facility. Left unattended, the city created and permitted, the opportunity for warehousing people. Unsuspecting tourists, homeless individuals, chronically mentally ill persons, immigrant workers and students are just a small portion of people who endure poor group living situations.

Many projects fall outside the jurisdiction of Niagara County and the state of New York due to “size” regulations and seldom do these agencies provide active oversight. This places the burden, responsibility and liability on the city of Niagara Falls. The lack of oversight and regulation has caused the illegal and non-conforming use of properties, oversaturation and concentrations in residential communities, and continues to cause a significant concern for the health and safety of vulnerable populations.

The primary objective and duty of the Building Inspections Department (Code Enforcement) is to “protect the public safety through the enforcement of the New York State Uniform Fire Prevention and Building Code together with all local codes and ordinances.”

How many young international “hostellers” will arrive at a youth hostel, only to find it is a “house for unemployed and homeless” people with “bedbugs covering every bed?” How many parents will send their children to illegal, unlicensed and uninspected summer camps? The price some have paid is high, when the city fails to enforce the law.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Author Gabriel Garcia Marquez Dead at 87 Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Horseless Carriage Introduced at NY Auto Show Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page