Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 14, 2013

Northpointe celebrating and taking part in Recovery Month

Niagara Gazette — For the past 24 years the month of September has been nationally recognized as Recovery Month to acknowledge those impacted by mental and/or substance abuse disorders. The observance of Recovery Month is to highlight that substance abuse and mental health services can positively impact those dealing with these disorders in order to enable them to live a healthier life. As part of the initiative to support those in recovery and to assist those seeking treatment it is important to understand the signs and symptoms of substance abuse and what constitutes drug dependency.

The more common and noticeable warning signs for drug abuse include physical, behavioral and psychological changes in an individual. According to the National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence, Inc., physical changes a person may begin to show include changes in appetite and sleep patterns, sudden weight loss or gain, seizures without a history of epilepsy, deterioration of personal hygiene and grooming, shakes, tremors, slurred speech, and impaired or unstable coordination.

Behavioral changes will be noticed by those who interact with the individual on a daily basis. Behavioral warning signs include sudden changes in relationships, friends, favorite hangouts and interests. Individuals may also be withdrawn, silent, and engaging in secretive behaviors. They may also have an unusual or unexplained need for money and begin to have financial problems leading them to borrow and steal from those around them who may find money and valuables missing more frequently. In addition, another sign of drug abuse/dependency include a drop in attendance from school and work, and complaints about the person from co-workers, supervisors, teachers, and classmates.

The final category of signs and symptoms of drug abuse deals with psychological symptoms. These relate closely to behavioral warning signs, including sudden changes in mood, irritability, angry outbursts, or inappropriate laughter. Individuals may also be hyperactive or agitated at certain times and lacking motivation or becoming lethargic at other times. Other psychological warning signs are an unexplained change in personality or attitude leading an individual to appear fearful, withdrawn, anxious, or paranoid for no apparent reason.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page