Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 9, 2013

HIGGS: Spotlight shines on Joey's, WIlliamson Funeral Home

Niagara Gazette — Let’s go back to our Niagara Beautification Spotlight awards during this summer and see whose hard work has paid off. Since I am working backward we will visit the Williamson Funeral Home next which received the July Spotlight Award.

Sitting in one of Niagara’s historic and stately, early buildings at 635 Main St. near the Main Post Office, Williamson’s has been the source of comfort for those who have lost a loved one for many years. Back in 1922 this was occupied by Marl C. Cobler, funeral director and professional embalmer. It was formerly The Leuppie Company. By 1940 Oscar Bell and Oscar Bell, Jr. owned and operated the Bell Funeral Home at this location and Myrtle Cobler moved across the park at the corner of Main and Pine to 640 Park Place and opened Cobler’s Funeral Home. Ownership at Bell’s included Luella Bell who was secretary — treasurer during the 1950s and later Thelma Bell took that position in 1974.

Theodore and Gertrude Williamson purchased 635 Main St. in 1976 and the Williamson Funeral Home has been there ever since serving primarily the black community. Ted as he was known was very active in the community, serving on many local boards including the NFTA. Cobler’s remained across the way until the 1980s when Richard Coleman took over and opened the R.L. Coleman Funeral Home. That building at 640 Park Place is now the home of U.S. Congressman Brian Higgins and Niagara University’s ReNU Niagara.

The Ted Williamson family included five children — Theodore, Jr., Michael, Tanya, Jean and Michelle. I found a Niagara Gazette article by Crystal Boling dated March 28, 1982, all about Theodore, Jr. and Michael — two of the city’s very eligible and so far confirmed bachelors. They lived in the spacious upstairs apartment at 635 Main and she described it as furnished in the “minimal style” as it was pretty sparse. “Just a couch in the living room”, according to Michael. Both boys are married with families now. He worked alongside his dad for many years and is now the licensed funeral director taking over the business following Ted’s death on June 24, 2010. His dad was the person really responsible for the landscaped front yard and the generally beautiful appearance of the building over the years according to Michael who was thrilled about the Spotlight and said his dad would be very proud.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page