Niagara Gazette

Opinion

May 25, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Memorial added breath of life

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Patriots (Hope that doesn’t get us audited) — We’ve observed Memorial Day already, we just didn’t realize it.

You couldn’t exactly set your sundial by it, but every twilight in decent weather Jim Moss’ old dog would waddle down the street, tugging Jim behind him. We always exchanged a few words, and thought we knew him pretty well.

Eventually the dog was called up to the Great Kennel and in December, so was Jim, 95. Last Saturday, they gathered to remember Jim at St. Stephen, our only Catholic congregation.

As we’ve said, we’re going to too many farewell rites, too often leaving with no insights into the deceased. Particularly vexing was one last fall for an acting pal, a wonderfully droll man named Carl Kowalkowski, and in 1 ½ hours, a program bill the size of a small-town phone book, not one word was said about his special charms. Look, we’re not trying to stamp out prayer in church, but if the eulogy doesn’t bring us closer to the subject, why bother?

Jim Moss’ eulogy, delivered by the Rev. Dan Fiebelkorn, former pastor, was perfect. We learned, for example, that Jim faithfully brought two elderly nuns to Mass and that, Father Dan said, “Sister Ann Nonymous was a handful.” (He named her, we won’t, but any reference to a cantankerous nun will bring down the chapel.)

Jim, we learned, had worked for decades at Bethlehem Steel and would tell Father Dan of its unspeakable heat as a science, not complaint. We suspect a bit of pastor-client secrecy was breached here – Jim was loath to have people think he’d had it hard.

World War II arrived. With a family and a defense job, Jim was deferred but felt that unfair and volunteered, flying recon (i.e., spying) over enemy territory. Again, he kept it mostly to himself but Father Dan knew. Thanks for sharing.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page