Niagara Gazette

Opinion

June 9, 2013

SINGER: The power of certain oldies

Niagara Gazette — Certain oldies have been grossly overplayed, including in restaurants and pharmacies, and for me at least, have lost their emotive power, if they had it in the first place. You just say to yourself: hey, I heard this particular one 8,000 times on the radio when it first came out, then another 8,000 over the years, and now I have to hear it again?

However, some offerings one gets on local stations like 1440 AM can still move heck out of me and among the latter, I include two recorded back in the early ’60s by a brother-sister duo born in a place called Niagara Falls. I’m referring of course to Nino Tempo and April Stevens, the professional names they adopted and which they made deservedly famous

Some will recognize the first of these records as quintessentially theirs, though it was done almost as an afterthought, cut very quickly, and included Stevens’ spoken parts against Tempo’s fine riffs almost by accident. This hardy salmon of a record was then released only after vigorous opposition from a heavy-hitting producer of the time, Ahmet Ertegun (I guess one shouldn’t trust the suits inevitably to have taste or foresight). And then? The record became a monster hit and as it turned out, the biggest ever for Tempo and Stevens. And indeed, though this song “Deep Purple” went back to the Swing Era before World War II, the brother-sister version of the early ’60s was and remains truly unique and wonderful.

Another by them that you occasionally hear on 1440 may surprise more — I certainly don’t remember it on radio back in the day: the Tempo and Stevens rendering of “Stardust,” done in the same thrilling manner as their “Deep Purple,” and which can almost tear me up as I drive.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page