Niagara Gazette

Opinion

June 9, 2013

GLYNN: Many voters think Silver fails in job

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — •••

MARK THE CALENDAR: The Niagara Military Affairs Council will hold its annual meeting and board election at 5 p.m. June 19 at the Heritage Center at the Niagara Air Reserve Station. NIMAC Chairman Merrell Lane will review the group’s activities during the past year. He notes that due to security measures at the base people planning to attend need to submit their name, date of birth and driver’s license. E-mail to INFO@NIMAC.ORG or call the NIMAC office a 283-4008.

•••

IN THE PARK: “Senior Night” will be observed Tuesday at Sal Maglie Stadium when the Niagara Power is host to the Geneva Twins. Free coffee for anyone 65 years and older.

•••

HELPING HANDS DEPT.: The popular Niagara Cup Classic, a major fundraiser for Niagara Falls Memorial Medical Center, attracted 165 golfers to the Niagara Falls Country Club Tuesday. Hospital public relations director Patrick Bradley said that since the tourney was first held in 1992, it has generated more than $1 million for programs and equipment at the medical center.

•••

QUICKIE QUIZ: Answer to Thursday question: When J.N. Adams Co. closed its Falls Street store, Ambassador Leather Goods leased the building before moving its operations to Phoenix, Ariz.

•••

SIGN OF THE TIMES: In front of a Youngstown church: “In the beginning, God created. ... Stop in and see how it ends.”

•••

DESIGNED FOR DANGER:  The high grass and the plantings along the median on John Daly Boulevard, between Rainbow Boulevard and Niagara Street, have put motorists at risk. For anyone driving on Daly Boulevard, it’s like putting your life on the line, whether you’re trying to turn left into Falls Street or left into the Seneca Niagara Casino parking area. Due to the weeds and overgrowth, it’s virtually impossible to spot any approaching vehicles in the other lanes.

•••

QUICKIE QUIZ: Answer to Thursday question: When J.N. Adams Co. closed its Falls Street store, Ambassador Leather Goods leased the building before moving its operations to Phoenix, Ariz.

Contact reporter Don Glynn at 282-2311, ext. 2246.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page