Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 10, 2013

GUEST VIEW: State reps need to go all in on casino

Niagara Gazette — Over the past few weeks there have been various stories regarding the expansion of casino gaming in New York, to include non-Native American casinos throughout the state, a matter that requires second passage by the state legislature and then approval, by voters, of a state constitutional amendment — two very significant hurdles. Gov. Andrew Cuomo has been most vocal in shaping the conversation, but one needs to carefully read the well-chosen phrases by our governor to clearly see the implications, if any, for Western New York generally and Niagara Falls specifically.

After the governor’s first declaration that “no new casinos would come to “Y” since the state would not violate contracts “with exclusivity geographically ... that are in good standing,” the governor then decided to declare that Niagara Falls could be a site for a new nonNative American casino.

Obviously, most observers have already determined that the governor is, as they say at the poker table, bluffing, and he has chosen the most recognizable spot in the state (after New York City) to draw the battle line. On the one hand, it is gratifying that the governor recognizes the value of Niagara Falls as a location, however this becomes another example of how the state uses Niagara Falls, and Western New York, without really trying to help. Wouldn’t the better course have been for the state to agree that the Senecas pay the host communities their share ($100 million dollars) while the dispute between the Senecas and the state is sorted out? This would take pressure off local governments in the host communities, which suffered greatly despite honoring their obligations. Or, perhaps, the state could pay the host communities their share, as happened in Salamanca, whose state representatives fought for the taxpayers they serve. On the other hand, our state representatives failed to bring this message to Albany and achieve results for their constituents, maybe it’s because of campaign donations they receive, or other perks they are given, who knows. That is why I refused to accept those offers. The Niagara Falls City Council asks a good question, “Who’s fighting for little Niagara Falls?“

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page