Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 18, 2013

No one's perfect, even presidents

Niagara Gazette — Today is Presidents’ Day, officially celebrated each year since 1971 on the third Monday of February. 

It’s sad to see a holiday created to honor the legacy of our nation’s highest executives turned into a time for merchants to have sales. But at least the day off for many workers gives them time to reflect.

The two men most directly related to the holiday were born in February: Our first president, George Washington, on Feb. 22, 1732, and 16th President Abraham Lincoln, on Feb. 12, 1809.

While these were possibly two of our most influential and memorable leaders, on this holiday we also should take time to look back upon all those who have led our country.

Here are some interesting tidbits about our presidents, who should be remembered not only for the decisions they made but also the times during which they lived and worked.

• Washington was the first and only president without a party. He never ran under or represented any sort of political affiliation. He also was the only commander in chief unanimously elected to lead, which he did from 1789 to 1797.

• John Adams and Thomas Jefferson both died on the 50th anniversary of the Declaration of Independence, in 1826.

• Eighth President Martin Van Buren was the first president born in the United States. Previous presidents were born in colonies that became states. He was the first to be born after the adoption of the U.S. Constitution.

• In addition to being honest — often through crude jokes and sarcasm — Lincoln was not what you would call a born leader. He attempted many careers, with little success, before becoming president. Before taking office in 1860, he tried — and failed — to succeed as a storekeeper, farmer, land officer, lawyer, U.S. senator, vice presidential candidate and speaker of the Illinois state legislature.

• Grover Cleveland had a series of firsts: First and only president to serve non-consecutive terms (from 1885 to 1889 and 1893 to 1897), first and only to be married in a White House ceremony and first to have a child born in the executive mansion.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page