Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 11, 2013

HIGGS: Partnering with Falls police

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — Captain Nick Paonessa who also runs the Juvenile Division is now the leader of Community Relations with Community Relations Officers Mike Corcoran and Dave Cudahy who will be working with retail establishments in the community.

The NFPD Citizens Engagement Initiative is a newly created resident driven initiative that focuses on improving the quality of life of all residents while strengthening community-police relations. This replaces the former Weed and See Program. Some of the goals will be to increase community interaction and improve residents’ participation by connecting them to neighborhood police substations that will provide community based resources and to engage youth in police mentorship program to improve relations between them.

Social media has become a priority with everyone and the police department is no exception. Our cities finest will be on Facebook along with an improved and easier to navigate website in the works and Twitter and YouTube in future development. Hey- not everything can be accomplished in 26 days.

A gun buy-back program will be held Feb. 23 from noon to 5 p.m. at the Niagara Falls Fire Department Fire Hall at 11th Street and Ontario Avenue. The Niagara Falls Block Club Council will be a co-sponsor along with MAD DADS. Some say this won’t get illegal guns off the street — Chief says a legal gun could easily become an illegal one. I think of Newtown, where the gun was purchased legally by mother, and used against her and young children and their teachers at local school by her son. Learn how to protect your gun against these circumstances.

DalPorto says no questions asked — non-working guns will be worth $10 and working long guns (rifles/shotguns) $50. Handguns bring $75 and assault rifles $100. The Block Club Council donated trigger locks which will be given away to legal gun owners. Old unwanted ammunition (live rounds only) will be accepted. Citizens can sign up for the gun safety training course to be presented by the NFPD Firearms Training Unit. Antique or specialty guns worth more than amounts stated above will be held and help will be offered to facilitate the sale to a legitimate collector for the valued price. Legislator Owen Steed was instrumental in obtaining the funding for the program.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page