Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 11, 2013

HIGGS: Partnering with Falls police

Niagara Gazette — Last week we learned about some of the partnerships the Niagara Falls Block Club Council has become involved in with local government and how it all assists crime prevention in our community.

It has been a long, hard battle over the almost 17 years we have been in this together but we as citizens fully realize we cannot control our population and the social problems that come with it. At our annual retreat held in January we invited these partners to pass along any and all new programs and/or ideas that have been developed which can help us learn how we as citizens can better help in the reduction and prevention of crime in our neighborhoods.

Our most vital partner has been the Niagara Falls Police Department and our new police superintendent was in his 26th day in this position at the time of the retreat. He was, however, a highly recognized member of the NFPD for 15 years. Chief Bryan DalPorto with the assistance of Field Intelligence Officer Karl Brusino and Field Intelligence Analyst Matt Robbins put together a Power-Point presentation outlining among other things the manpower restructuring during this time period. To make the most effective use of manpower he put more officers on the street and even on the beat. One day in mid-January, I actually saw a police officer “walking the beat” on Pine Avenue. (yea — my comment).

The RAC unit is now in marked police cars on patrol; the Traffic Division does prisoner transfers; when desk officers are not needed during building closure they are on the road during afternoon and midnight shifts. There will still be an officer in City Hall but when closed, this officer is on patrol. Manning for shifts will be evaluated on a daily basis. The chief says the ideal number is eight plus. During the summer, Operation Impact funds will be used in the downtown tourist area and business districts. He stated everything is COMPSTAT driven – crime trends are researched and if burglaries are up in certain areas for instance, manpower is diverted there. This unit meets biweekly to discuss violent crime, property crime and how to allocate resources to address these crimes. Officer presence will be increased in business districts. Burglaries and larceny from vehicles continue to be the highest statistic. Lock your empty car ladies and gentlemen. It does help.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page