Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 5, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Community support made Premier the biggest yet

Niagara Gazette — Niagara Falls Memorial Medical Center has been a vital part of our community for almost 120 years. And the Buffalo/Niagara region demonstrated its ongoing support for us in a big way when more than 900 people attended the hospital’s sold out fundraising event — The Premier — on Jan. 19.

The black tie dinner and entertainment gala returned for its ninth year to the Seneca Niagara Casino and Hotel for a five-star evening of food and fun. Latin rhythms and tropical treats created a festive atmosphere of magic, mystery and music including a riveting performance by Grammy Award winning entertainer Jon Secada, thanks to the generous support of headline sponsor Seneca Niagara Casino & Hotel.

The Wendell Rivera Jazz Quartet provided great dinner music. Baila Salsa Dance Co. not only entertained but gave dance lessons and Soul Committee kept everyone dancing well past midnight.

As chairpersons of The Premier 2013, we were excited to see so many people have such a wonderful time for such a worthy cause. It was the biggest Premier ever and the funds raised this year bring the total raised from this annual gala to more than $1 million to support innovative health care and cutting edge technology at Memorial. This year’s proceeds will benefit Memorial’s cardiac and stroke care programs.

A first-class event does not happen by accident. We are grateful to every one of our more than 80 corporate and individual sponsors for their generous support. As always, Seneca Nation of Indians President Barry Snyder and Seneca Gaming Corporation Chairman Robert Mele were the perfect hosts. Their staff, led by President and CEO Cathy Walker, Senior Vice President of Marketing Jim Wise, Executive Director of Entertainment Kevin Wiech, Director of Catering Karen Nordaby and Executive Chef Gary McHale, was just outstanding.

We also are grateful to Dr. Rick and Anne Sawicki, who chaired this year’s Premier silent auction, to the generous donors of distinctive auction items, to Principal Robert DiFrancesco and the student volunteers from Niagara Catholic Jr./Sr. High School, and to our many community volunteers – all of whose efforts were so important to the event’s success.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page