Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 5, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Community support made Premier the biggest yet

Niagara Gazette — Niagara Falls Memorial Medical Center has been a vital part of our community for almost 120 years. And the Buffalo/Niagara region demonstrated its ongoing support for us in a big way when more than 900 people attended the hospital’s sold out fundraising event — The Premier — on Jan. 19.

The black tie dinner and entertainment gala returned for its ninth year to the Seneca Niagara Casino and Hotel for a five-star evening of food and fun. Latin rhythms and tropical treats created a festive atmosphere of magic, mystery and music including a riveting performance by Grammy Award winning entertainer Jon Secada, thanks to the generous support of headline sponsor Seneca Niagara Casino & Hotel.

The Wendell Rivera Jazz Quartet provided great dinner music. Baila Salsa Dance Co. not only entertained but gave dance lessons and Soul Committee kept everyone dancing well past midnight.

As chairpersons of The Premier 2013, we were excited to see so many people have such a wonderful time for such a worthy cause. It was the biggest Premier ever and the funds raised this year bring the total raised from this annual gala to more than $1 million to support innovative health care and cutting edge technology at Memorial. This year’s proceeds will benefit Memorial’s cardiac and stroke care programs.

A first-class event does not happen by accident. We are grateful to every one of our more than 80 corporate and individual sponsors for their generous support. As always, Seneca Nation of Indians President Barry Snyder and Seneca Gaming Corporation Chairman Robert Mele were the perfect hosts. Their staff, led by President and CEO Cathy Walker, Senior Vice President of Marketing Jim Wise, Executive Director of Entertainment Kevin Wiech, Director of Catering Karen Nordaby and Executive Chef Gary McHale, was just outstanding.

We also are grateful to Dr. Rick and Anne Sawicki, who chaired this year’s Premier silent auction, to the generous donors of distinctive auction items, to Principal Robert DiFrancesco and the student volunteers from Niagara Catholic Jr./Sr. High School, and to our many community volunteers – all of whose efforts were so important to the event’s success.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page