Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 21, 2013

PFEIFFER: 20 years later, a calmer tone to Roe vs. Wade decision -- at least in Buffalo

Niagara Gazette — I remember my photographer and I being pushed backward over a police barricade and nearly trampled by protestors.

I remember an Amherst Police officer reaching to put a pair of flex cuffs on me and place me under arrest. (Luckily, his lieutenant dragged me to a curb and kept me out of jail.)

Yeah, I remember the spring of 1992.

I remember the journalism hell that was the Spring of Life.

Several months after the 20th anniversary of the U.S. Supreme Court ruling in Roe v Wade, Western New York became grond zero in America's war over abortion. 

Then Buffalo Mayor Jimmy Griffin, a conservative and devout Catholic, had been asked at a news conference around the Roe v Wade anniversary how he felt about the so-called "rescue movement," an agressive form of anti-abortion protest that focused on the human blockade of abortion clinics. Griffin, always a loose cannon on a rolling deck, replied that he would "welcome" members of the movement if they wanted to come here to protest.

It was just the opportunity that Randall Terry, the founder of Operation Rescue, and the chief proponent of clinic blockades, would need to stage the "mother of all anti-abortion protests." Joined by local anti-abortion crusaders the Reverends Robert and Paul Schenck, Terry called for pro-life protestors to rally here for 10 days in April and May.

Abortion rights activists responded by saying they would rally here as well, to defend the clinics. 

The battle lines were drawn and local police agencies and journalists would end up in the middle of the nation's ideological war.

I was working as an anchor and investigative reporter at News 4 Buffalo at the time. While the protests were an all hands on deck kind of event for our newsroom, a number of us were told to expect to bear the brunt of the coverage demands.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Fire Engulfs Tower Block in China Ocean Drones Making Waves in Research World Breakfast Foods Are Getting Pricier Raw: Ferry Captain Received Medical Treatment Hundreds Gather for Denver Pot Rally on Easter Transcript Reveals Confusion in Ferry Evacuation Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page