Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 15, 2013

BRADBERRY: King lives, his spirit rules

Niagara Gazette — “By our readiness to allow arms to be purchased at will and fired at whim… we have created an atmosphere in which violence and hatred have become popular pastimes.”

— Martin Luther King, New York Amsterdam News, December 1963

   

“If ever I was born again, I was born again right there on the courthouse steps,” wrote J.L. Chestnut Jr., who after attending Howard University Law school in Washington D.C. returned to his hometown, Selma, Alabama in 1958 as the city’s first black lawyer, and who then went on to fight for voting rights for all Americans, especially African Americans, thereby laying the groundwork for the march led by the Reverend Doctor Martin Luther King Jr. from Selma to Montgomery which led directly to the 1965 Voting Rights Act and indirectly to the subsequent election of President Barack Obama.

Ironically, though King would not live to witness the harvest, they both realized that the seeds they were casting in the fields for fairness and racial equality would inevitably bear the sweet fruit of their labor. Chestnut, whose 1990 book, co-written by Julia Cass, Black in Selma: “The Uncommon Life of J.L. Chestnut, Jr., Politics and Power in a Small American Town” died at the age of 77 in September 2008.

Their book masterfully chronicles his role in the small town of Selma, Ala., as he, King’s Southern Christian Leadership Council (SCLC), the Student Non Violent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) and the courageous people who lived there dared to challenge the status quo, taking on the powerful armed violence, beatings and death wielded by the racist and totally corrupt local sherriff and the state government that backed him.

Chestnut’s “born again” epiphany on the courthouse steps recalls his realization that King was right. He was emerging from the courthouse when he witnessed “a remarkable confrontation between SNCC president John Lewis and Sheriff Clark.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Chronicling crime on the 'Island' Why is Rick Pfeiffer never around when you need him? The guy whose cubicle we shared during the Koop-Jasen-Rice era at Channel 4 now carefully chronicles criminals for the Gazette, notably those a few flakes short of Raisin Bran, but his crime wave is a mere ripple compared to ours.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The mirrors of my grandfather's fingernails What we do or don't do will have a greater impact upon our grandchildren's futures than what you might think.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page