Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 13, 2013

VINCENT DAVIS: The lesson of cancelled TV shows

Niagara Gazette — If this were a summer camp ice-breaker activity where everyone had to say an interesting fact about themselves mine would no doubt shock many of you: I have no idea what’s going on in the world of television.

I don’t know who won “America’s Got Talent” and I don’t know what you’re talking about when you name off people who have recently passed on in “The Walking Dead” but you do have my condolences as a lot of people seem pretty broken up about it. “But Vince,” you say, “how can you not be keeping up with the chilling drama that is ‘American Horror Story?’ Do you care about ‘The X-Factor’ at all!?”

Not really. The reason I don’t know what’s going on in the world of popular television is simple — all of my favorite shows are already cancelled.

If I’m to believe “the media,” these are crazy times. International conflicts seem to happen more frequently, our fiscal lives are more “cliff-y” and Andy Rooney hasn’t been on “60 Minutes” in years. Instability is everywhere and in the turbulent torrent of change that is life in the 21st century “will NBC’s “Smash” get cancelled before they resolve all the romantic conflicts?” is not another worry I need added to my plate right now.

I understand the appeal of investing your time in prime time television. There’s the anxious anticipation as you wait a week to see if your favorite characters are going to get out of whatever predicament they were in at the end of the last episode, heated discussions with friends over why your favorite singer/dancer is the best and their favorite singer/dancer totally deserved to get voted off last night, and who can forget Internet fueled speculation on what the real storyline of the show is (I’m looking at you “Lost”, “The Event” and “V”). Everyone likes to look forward to something and a watching a great show and texting your friends about it can be a great time. But honestly all of that waiting, arguing, hoping that quirky heroines will dump that loser and realize that their real love is their best friend, who has been with them the whole time, sounds exhausting.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page