Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 13, 2013

EDITORIAL: Sound plan for a better New York

Niagara Gazette — During his state of the state address this week, Gov. Andrew Cuomo outlined a number of new initiatives offering great promise for communities like Niagara County and regions like Western New York.

And while some of these efforts may prove costly and are coming at a time when the state’s finances are being impacted by Hurricane Sandy cleanup efforts, we applaud Cuomo for unveiling a plan for 2013 that reminds New Yorkers of the need to approach the coming year with enthusiasm and pride. 

This is the Empire State after all, a place that has led the nation in many areas and can do so again, with the right outlook and leadership. 

While we have questions — chief among them where the money will come from to cover the tab for all of Cuomo’s initiatives — the governor deserves high marks for doing something other high-level officials in Albany have neglected to do in past years: Remember Upstate New York and the potential benefits it can, if properly cultivated, offer to the state’s overall economy. 

In his address, Cuomo reinforced his support the “Buffalo Billion,” an effort his office launched last year that is aimed at investing $1 billion for economic development projects in the Buffalo area, including Niagara Falls and surrounding communities. 

He also announced a new “Market NY” campaign aimed at better promoting regional assets, including those found right here. As part of a larger plan, the governor is calling for the creation of “Taste-NY,” an initiative that would focus on improved promotion of home-grown and home-produced products, a seemingly perfect fit for Niagara County’s growers and winemakers. 

He’s proposed a new advertising competition offering shares of $5 million for regions developing new and effective marketing campaigns. Such a program would seem ideal for tourism-rich Niagara Falls and neighboring communities. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page