Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 12, 2013

GUEST VIEW: It's not too late to fight off the flu

Niagara Gazette — In recent weeks, there has been a sizable increase in the number and severity of influenza cases seen both here in Western New York and across the country as a whole. Physicians have experienced this increase in both the outpatient and inpatient setting.

Our local emergency rooms and hospitals have been quite busy, much of which is due to patients who are ill with influenza or influenza-related illnesses. Waiting times in the emergency rooms have been very long. As a result, we propose to give you well-established generic advice to help you to reduce your risk of contracting influenza (the flu) and other associated conditions such as secondary bacterial pneumonia. Preventative measures to reduce the risk of contracting the flu include but are not limited to: thorough and frequent hand washing, fully covering your mouth whenever you sneeze or cough, taking proper care of dietary and sleep needs and finally, being inoculated with the influenza vaccine, if you have no contraindications to doing so.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has indicated that the strains of the influenza virus which are circulating this year have been reasonably well-covered in this year’s vaccine. Although the vaccine may not prevent the flu in all people, it may make the illness less severe if you have had the injection. If, despite all of the above precautions, you do become ill with flu-like symptoms (fever, chills, muscle aches, etc.), please first call your doctor. Do not immediately go to a hospital or emergency department unless you are experiencing severe or worrisome symptoms. Your physician may prescribe some anti-viral medications which, if given soon enough, may sufficiently help to minimize the extent and severity of your illness enough to keep you from having to go to the emergency room and the hospital. Your physician will also advise you which symptoms do require a visit to the emergency department or hospital. It is certainly not too late to get the vaccine. There are still several months left to flu season. Please promptly contact your health care provider if you have special needs or considerations that require expert evaluation to avoid or lessen the effects of this year’s influenza outbreak.

Thomas Cumbo, M.D. is the division head of Infectious Disease at Mount St. Mary's Hospital.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page