Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 3, 2013

EDITORIAL: Congress does right thing in cliff vote

Niagara Gazette — “The Americans will always do the right thing,” said Winston Churchill, “after they’ve exhausted all the alternatives.”

That certainly was the case in the unseemly and untidy machinations of the “fiscal cliff” crisis just barely averted Tuesday night when the House of Representatives passed a bipartisan bill to extend the Bush-era tax cuts for the overwhelming majority of Americans.

The bill, which delays automatic spending reductions for two months and amends some expiring tax and spending provisions, is an imperfect piece of work, but the alternative of wrecking the financial markets, throwing many thousands of people out of work and risking another recession would have been far worse.

The crisis was not caused by the American people, but rather, by the most dysfunctional Congress in memory. It was paralyzed by the Republican leadership in the Senate refusing to vote on virtually anything President Barack Obama supported without a filibuster, and a GOP Tea Party contingent unwilling to compromise.

With Republican Minority Leader Mitch McConnell finally acting like a statesman in negotiations with Vice President Joe Biden, the bill overwhelmingly passed the Senate. Rather than taxes going up on those making more than $250,000 a year, McConnell negotiated that up to $450,000 for couples.

But Speaker of the House John Boehner has a more-fractious GOP caucus. He wound up voting for the bill, while House Majority Leader Eric Cantor voted against it along with the majority of Republicans in the House. The final tally was 257-157, with 172 Democrats and 85 Republicans voting in favor.

We are encouraged that our two local representative — Republicans Chris Gibson and Richard Hanna — voted for the bill, risking offending Tea Party groups that had supported them in the past.

Gibson, in a media release, put his finger on the best reason to vote for the bill.

“Early Tuesday morning, the Senate passed legislation by an overwhelming bipartisan vote of 89-8 that will make permanent the lower tax rates of the Bush era. I support this bill and voted ‘yes’ as it provides much-needed tax relief for over 99 percent of my constituents.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Popeye's '7-Minute' guide to educating southerners -- and me! Writer Mark Twain said that when he 14, his father was so ignorant that he could hardly stand to have the old man around. But upon turning 21, Twain said that he was astonished by how much his father had learned in just seven years.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bianco mug 072514 GUESTVIEW: Business First ranking casts Falls in a new light There are those in the community who like to cite Business First's annual rankings of school districts and speak unfavorably about Niagara Falls' low standing.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • CHEERS AND JEERS: The best --Â and worst -- of the week of July 25 It sure sounds like the Buffalo Bills really will be "Living on a Prayer" as far as Western New York is concerned if the team is purchased by the prospective ownership group that includes rocker Jon Bon Jovi.

    July 25, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Wegmans call warns of bad fruit I was humming to myself the other day, getting ready for work on a lovely summer morning, when I decided to check my messages on the house phone. I hit the play button and heard a message from Wegmans warning me about some fruit that I had bought at their store. As quick as that, a message with the scary potential to change my life or the life of someone I love.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Ortt jumps on drive to repeal the SAFE Act It was a no-brainer for North Tonawanda Mayor Rob Ortt, a Republican candidate for the 62nd Senate District seat, to join the forces to repeal the state's SAFE Act.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Delaying refuse law really just makes situation worse It's obvious the rollout of the city's new refuse and recyclables collection program has caused confusion and consternation among some city residents and business owners.

    July 24, 2014

  • NIA Giannetti, Robert mug 072414 GUEST VIEW: Village of Lewiston parking issues related to Artpark need to be addressed On Artpark nights, the South Fourth Street area and many other parts of the Village of Lewiston are covered with pop-up parking lots on residential lawns that operate in spite of existing zoning laws prohibiting commercial activity.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Tourists attracted here by history, beauty, politics As my friend and colleague, writer Don Glynn has so artfully portrayed over the decades, "For many years after the dawn of aviation, U.S. presidents visiting Western New York started at the Niagara Falls Airport. The reason: The main runway here was longer than that of the Buffalo airport and could easily accommodate Air Force One, the presidential aircraft."

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Experience Center vital to tourism here From time immemorial, Niagara tourism leaders have expounded on the need for a first-class orientation center to showcase our assets for the millions of annual visitors here.

    July 23, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page