Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 1, 2013

BRADBERRY: Should old acquaintance be forgot, or not?

Niagara Gazette —

Wow, was 2012 a tough year or what?

I’m glad to see it go; so many tragedies, so much pain for so many; too much, way too much to bear for way too many, and, say some, this year could be even worse, though it’s hard to imagine how. I hope it will be better.

Of course, there were good things last year too, some great things. Beautiful babies were born, couples got married or happily got divorced, there were inventions, discoveries, reunions; a few people made a lot of money, and a few discovered that money, power and fame really aren’t worth much without good health.

Regardless of how Father Time may have treated you in particular last year, whether 2012 was a good year or bad, one thing is likely; you probably kicked off last year, and this one with any number of traditions, some so old that nobody is quite sure where they came from.

The tradition of celebrating the arrival of the New Year is the oldest of all holidays, likely first observed in ancient Babylon about 4000 years ago and is still wildly celebrated though differently, all over the world, our only planetary holiday.

According to some who have studied ancient history, somewhere around 2000 BC or so, the Babylonian New Year began with the first New Moon, or the first visible crescent after the Vernal Equinox otherwise known as the first day of spring.

Logically, the beginning of spring, the season of rebirth, and the planting new crops is a natural time to start a new year, not January 1, which is completely arbitrary, having neither astronomical nor agricultural significance whatsoever, but we celebrate it anyway; why?

Well, it’s a long story beginning, they say, with the Babylonians, the original party hounds; they apparently celebrated the New Year big time.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page