Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 31, 2012

HIGGS: Looking back on a busy 2012

Niagara Gazette — Another year comes to a close at midnight tonight and I will be finishing up my seventh year bringing my weekly column to you. It seems like just yesterday when Roger Spurback and I met with Dave Arkin at the Niagara Gazette and I complained about no advance notice to the public of coming events in the city. I noted that there was plenty of follow-up coverage with many photos of the presentation of the “big check”, but most of us did not how it all came about. Dave suggested I write a weekly column to spread the word. So that was my initial mission and I admit I have slipped off the track many times as I apparently have been given (or I just take) free reign to write about anything of interest.

Several years ago I began writing about sections of the city and the history of specific areas such as Main Street, Falls Street, and Niagara Street and during 2012 I covered Pine Avenue which took up the better part of the year. I did sneak in some issues relating to city ordinances, housing problems, some history on our Armenian population and of course, I tried to mention all of the business owners who were chosen to receive the Niagara Beautification Commission Spotlight Award. These included Inn Niagara on the Niagara Falls Boulevard, Family and Children’s Services of Niagara and its new location on Main Street, Access Physical Therapy on Pine Avenue, National Vacuum Corporation on 47th Street which I discovered quite by accident, the beautiful and restful Peace Garden at the Main Street Library, DiCamillo’s Bakery which are located just about everywhere and Foley’s Tavern on Buffalo Avenue.

Hopefully you remember my six-week attendance on Friday evenings during the summer with the U.S. Border Patrol and its “long green line.” I did admit it was certainly very interesting to find out the early history of the agency and its deep commitment to protect our international borders, both north and south. I was pleased to find out they also assist our local police department during the “busy” season. It wasn’t all classroom as we took a spin on their patrol boat, examined some of their weapons and some of us even tried a bit of target practice. Not me, by the way. We also visited their headquarters on Grand Island and watched the border activity on several large monitors. Even though I missed some Friday night fish with friends, I found it worthwhile and fun. Great group and we should be glad they are in our community.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page