Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 31, 2012

HIGGS: Looking back on a busy 2012

Niagara Gazette — Another year comes to a close at midnight tonight and I will be finishing up my seventh year bringing my weekly column to you. It seems like just yesterday when Roger Spurback and I met with Dave Arkin at the Niagara Gazette and I complained about no advance notice to the public of coming events in the city. I noted that there was plenty of follow-up coverage with many photos of the presentation of the “big check”, but most of us did not how it all came about. Dave suggested I write a weekly column to spread the word. So that was my initial mission and I admit I have slipped off the track many times as I apparently have been given (or I just take) free reign to write about anything of interest.

Several years ago I began writing about sections of the city and the history of specific areas such as Main Street, Falls Street, and Niagara Street and during 2012 I covered Pine Avenue which took up the better part of the year. I did sneak in some issues relating to city ordinances, housing problems, some history on our Armenian population and of course, I tried to mention all of the business owners who were chosen to receive the Niagara Beautification Commission Spotlight Award. These included Inn Niagara on the Niagara Falls Boulevard, Family and Children’s Services of Niagara and its new location on Main Street, Access Physical Therapy on Pine Avenue, National Vacuum Corporation on 47th Street which I discovered quite by accident, the beautiful and restful Peace Garden at the Main Street Library, DiCamillo’s Bakery which are located just about everywhere and Foley’s Tavern on Buffalo Avenue.

Hopefully you remember my six-week attendance on Friday evenings during the summer with the U.S. Border Patrol and its “long green line.” I did admit it was certainly very interesting to find out the early history of the agency and its deep commitment to protect our international borders, both north and south. I was pleased to find out they also assist our local police department during the “busy” season. It wasn’t all classroom as we took a spin on their patrol boat, examined some of their weapons and some of us even tried a bit of target practice. Not me, by the way. We also visited their headquarters on Grand Island and watched the border activity on several large monitors. Even though I missed some Friday night fish with friends, I found it worthwhile and fun. Great group and we should be glad they are in our community.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Scheer, Mark mug CITY DESK: Hobel will be missed

    Lost in all the hoopla surrounding last week’s announced retirement of state Sen. George Maziarz, R-Newfane, was the loss of another well-known figure in local government and politics.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: More pastors, a new church and more of everything Before I go further back in time, I want to just go back to last week where I took my own advice and spent a couple of hours at the Como, where I enjoyed one of their traditional "parade of bowls and plates of great salads, pasta and meat dishes" and listened to longtime friends of Tom Darro roast him with humor, accolades and best wishes. And best of all no one who came to the microphone mentioned garbage totes or carts. It was a welcome relief.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Time is of the essence in Maziarz probe Voters in the 62nd district and elsewhere across the state deserve the ability to make an educated decision about any candidates who take money from Maziarz while he still has the ability to dole it out.

    July 21, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Border Patrol chief examines deadly acts A former Buffalo police chief now has the formidable task of reviewing cases where border agents have used deadly force.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Nostalgia for nostalgia: Where will it end? Not only has there been a huge nostalgia boom in America, but we're now getting to the point where there's much nostalgia for nostalgia! Maybe signifying that nostalgia will wear itself out, or, as in the old adage, that it ain't what it used to be?

    July 20, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Barracks site solved -- let's get something else moving The New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation heard the community loud and clear this time.

    July 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Driven to distraction by recent incidents For reasons best left unexplained, Doug drives home from Niagara Falls at twilight many nights, usually alone. It's about 10 miles, 15 minutes, from pressbox to driveway. He exits I-190 at the Beaver Island ramp, hugging its right edge in deference to any mainstream traffic, which would be coming downhill from the left at a 140-degree angle.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Opinion sig CHEERS & JEERS: The best - and worst - of the week for July 19

    This paving season has been like no other thanks to a particularly rough winter.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Council, administrative hypocrisy, and that is the gospel truth If there isn't a walk-on resolution on the Niagara Falls City Council's upcoming last agenda before the August recess to change the zoning back to what it was prior to the South End Niagara Gospel Rescue Mission opening its hearts and doors, then the city council should just cease its hypocritical practice of even saying prayers before the meeting.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page