Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 31, 2012

CITY DESK: Year-end wishes, under the wire

Niagara Gazette — There were oversights in my life — both personally and professionally — in 2012. 

None bigger, I’d say, than my failure to formally recognize the arrival of a little girl named Isabelle Forgione.

That’s right, the man affectionately known to the world as my “heterosexual life partner” Rick Forgione and his wife, Nicole, had their first baby back in November.

That’s right. November. 

Yes, I’m a slacker for not telling the world sooner and, sure, most people - especially Facebook users - heard the news weeks ago.

But, since Rick is and will always be an honorary member of the Gazette family and is one of the best all around guys I know, I think it’s appropriate for his new family to get a little extra front-page love. 

I’m sure others who know Rick and Nicole wouldn’t mind and would no doubt join me in saying the privilege of parenthood could not have been bestowed upon two more deserving people. 

So, Since it’s still 2012, I’ll get it in just under the wire: Congratulations to the Forgiones and best wishes in the coming year and beyond. 

Now, for a few other items that need to be addressed before 2013 arrives:

• Goodbye John Chella. The city’s outgoing superintendent of police was one of the better public officials I’ve dealt with during my tenure at the Gazette. It’s a testament to the quality of his work that he managed to survive the transition from former Mayor Vince Anello to current Mayor Paul Dyster. He regularly made himself available to the staff here at the Gazette and I can personally attest to several occasions in which he went out of his way to investigate a matter of public interest or simply respond to calls from concerned citizens. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page