Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 28, 2012

HAMILTON: The Christmas Card

Niagara Gazette — Two things happened to me around Christmas this year that reminded me that we cannot have peace on Earth unless we learn to have respect for each other’s cultures.

I say ‘cultures,’ because expecting people to have respect for each of the six-billion individuals with whom we share this planet is not just impossible, it is also the epitome of self-centeredness; and that is preclusive of both respect and of peace.

I cherish the many friends that I have made around the globe, as well as the experiences that they have given me in their home nations, and I appreciate every opportunity that I have to make them feel welcome in our country.

The truth is, our country is rapidly becoming their country too — and that is all right by me.

One of the things that recently happened to me was that as I was rooting around the Family Dollar store on Pine Avenue on Christmas Eve, greeting those who passed me in the aisleways, I encountered what appeared to be a Jamaican-Canadian woman and her two daughters, and I shared a laugh or two with them.

As I began to depart, she felt so at ease with me that she summoned me back and gave to me a small religious tract to read. It was about creating a happy family. She was a Jehovah’s Witness, I gladly accepted the well-written and better-illustrated piece of literature, and she beamed with joy as I thanked her for giving it to me.

On that same day, I received electronic messages from two foreign-born friends of mine. Both of these friends were Muslim; one born in India and the other in what he lovingly refers to as Palestine. Both were wishing me a Merry Christmas. It warmed my heart.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page