Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 26, 2012

GUEST VIEW: Hail to Chief John Chella

Niagara Gazette — Niagara Falls has been blessed to have had great leaders in public safety during our history. Former Fire Chief William MacKay and Police Chief Ernie Palmer are among the ones remembered for being "people-ticians" rather than politicians.

Shortly, we will lose another to retirement after 40-plus years of dedicated, 24/7 public service. Our police Chief John Chella, respected throughout police ranks of New York state, hangs up his badge but not his sterling reputation as a "leader of leaders." On behalf of our community block clubs, we send him a deep sense of sincere gratitude for his devotion, dedication to superior leadership, especially during these tough economic times. 

A bad economy, mirrored by high unemployment, lack of jobs, poverty, struggling financial times, broken homes and recognized social crisis oftentimes brings out the worst criminal behavior in people. It's difficult to fathom anyone capable of harnessing the energy and ability to handle the multi-faceted crime problems Niagara Falls has faced. Through all the past several years of increasing higher criminal activity than the norm, the NFPD has sustained high professionalism, accomplished great police investigations, maintained work ethics and a fighting force second to no one in New York state. The reason is a leader named Chief John Chella, whose command these past nine years will be remembered as one of the top ones, if not the top. 

He has not only been a public servant, but one who listens and has an intense compassion for protecting the public. He has responded to our block club member requests through action, not just words or promises. This has resulted in safer neighborhoods through drug seizures, multiple arrests and gang members going to jail. 

Indeed, he has "walked the walk" not just "talked the talk." He taught us that respect is earned, not a given. He is a hands-on individual, who led by developing comprehensive, complex strategies, action and follow-up. Chella's expectations of his men led to consistent, professional improvement, respect for everyone in the public and finding solutions in the crime prevention, rather than reacting to crime, which by then is too late. He demonstrated his ability by working behind his fatigue level often in 12- to 16-hour workdays and 70 hour work weeks. Yes, we in Niagara Falls are the better for it.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Popeye's '7-Minute' guide to educating southerners -- and me! Writer Mark Twain said that when he 14, his father was so ignorant that he could hardly stand to have the old man around. But upon turning 21, Twain said that he was astonished by how much his father had learned in just seven years.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bianco mug 072514 GUESTVIEW: Business First ranking casts Falls in a new light There are those in the community who like to cite Business First's annual rankings of school districts and speak unfavorably about Niagara Falls' low standing.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • CHEERS AND JEERS: The best --Â and worst -- of the week of July 25 It sure sounds like the Buffalo Bills really will be "Living on a Prayer" as far as Western New York is concerned if the team is purchased by the prospective ownership group that includes rocker Jon Bon Jovi.

    July 25, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Wegmans call warns of bad fruit I was humming to myself the other day, getting ready for work on a lovely summer morning, when I decided to check my messages on the house phone. I hit the play button and heard a message from Wegmans warning me about some fruit that I had bought at their store. As quick as that, a message with the scary potential to change my life or the life of someone I love.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Ortt jumps on drive to repeal the SAFE Act It was a no-brainer for North Tonawanda Mayor Rob Ortt, a Republican candidate for the 62nd Senate District seat, to join the forces to repeal the state's SAFE Act.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Delaying refuse law really just makes situation worse It's obvious the rollout of the city's new refuse and recyclables collection program has caused confusion and consternation among some city residents and business owners.

    July 24, 2014

  • NIA Giannetti, Robert mug 072414 GUEST VIEW: Village of Lewiston parking issues related to Artpark need to be addressed On Artpark nights, the South Fourth Street area and many other parts of the Village of Lewiston are covered with pop-up parking lots on residential lawns that operate in spite of existing zoning laws prohibiting commercial activity.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Tourists attracted here by history, beauty, politics As my friend and colleague, writer Don Glynn has so artfully portrayed over the decades, "For many years after the dawn of aviation, U.S. presidents visiting Western New York started at the Niagara Falls Airport. The reason: The main runway here was longer than that of the Buffalo airport and could easily accommodate Air Force One, the presidential aircraft."

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Experience Center vital to tourism here From time immemorial, Niagara tourism leaders have expounded on the need for a first-class orientation center to showcase our assets for the millions of annual visitors here.

    July 23, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page