Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 24, 2012

HIGGS: Everyone loved 'Aunt Connie'

Niagara Gazette — We have all experienced much sadness lately and while we grieve for the loss of 20 children and their teachers and mentors, it came a lot closer to home for me when I lost my friend, neighbor and block club supporter Connie Rodhy around the same time.

“Aunt” Connie as many called her was a friend to everyone and was a caretaker herself driving anyone to medical tests and visits as the need arose. Although we graduated from high school together, I first met her when she appeared at my door back in 1995 with candidate James Galie who was campaigning for mayor. She lived on 7th Street, around the corner from me and was introducing him to her neighborhood. Our paths crossed again when she came to console me in 1996 following a robbery and assault in my garage as she read about it in the Niagara Gazette. With her help, we started the Blockbusters Block Club and became fast friends. Connie stepped up and became treasurer of the club and hosted meetings in her home when the Methodist Church closed.

Dorothy, Kerry, Elsie. Bernice, Greg, Curt, Dot and Ernie, Larry and Joanne and others would enjoy attending our neighborhood group and Connie made us very welcome.

She and I would often ride around the neighborhood listing probable housing code violations and trash problems. She would drive and I would write and take photos which we presented to our area inspector Dennis Virtuoso at the next meeting. We also held picnics at our block club park on Eighth Street and I could count on her help at Crime Night Out as well.

Connie’s birthday was in May and mine in July so we treated ourselves to dinner every year during June at the Western Door Steak House at the Seneca Niagara Casino. Some years our friends would join in and we had someone to share those large “sides” they serve. We volunteered together at the Niagara Falls Memorial Medical Center gift shop on Sunday afternoons a few years ago until we realized there were not enough customers to make it worthwhile as we usually ended up just sitting and knitting and selling an occasional candy bar. She remained loyal and volunteered at the shop on other days and I went on to others things.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Shumer seeks place to honor Gen. Donovan The legendary William J. Donovan has lost the high profile that his outstanding service once claimed in downtown Buffalo.

    July 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: We put ourselves in their hands We put ourselves in their hands -- doctors and specialists to whom they refer us, physiotherapists, nurses, lab staff et al. Not to mention road and bridge-repairers (vital in this region of potholes and aging infrastructure), firemen, farmers, food processors, conveyors (i.e., truckers), bus or train drivers, mechanics -- the list is obviously endless!

    July 13, 2014

  • GUEST VIEW: Garbage overhaul too much for overtaxed city residents Mayor Paul Dyster has implemented a new recycling and refuse program for residents and business owners of Niagara Falls, which is a drastic cut in a basic and essential service that the over-taxed residents and business owners of Niagara Falls pay for and deserve to receive.

    July 13, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Recounting the big role 'Woody' played The big-city paper last week carried a lengthy farewell to retired managing editor Elwood Wardlow. He made the obituary pages at the age of 90, after a distinguished career, with this exception:

    July 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Davis, Vincent mug DAVIS: Standing up for winter in Western New York Everybody loves summer. So much so that for nine months of the year Western New Yorkers spend a portion of every day (and a larger portion of their Facebook status updates) complaining about the non-summer weather and pining for July. Who amongst us hasn't seen a picture of a group of friends on a beach pop up on their Facebook/Instagram/Twitter feed with a caption like "me and my crew at the beach last summer, wish we were there right now #TBT (Throw Back Thursday)."

    July 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Another Niagara Falls Boulevard hit-and-run, but who cares? At the city’s intersection of Niagara Falls Boulevard and the I-190 there’s a memorial sign that’s dedicated to a motorcyclist who lost his life at that very spot. I hate signs like that; they are so utterly depressing.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Foschio mug 071114 GUEST VIEW: Tips to put an end to Shaken Baby Syndrome Shaken Baby Syndrome, also known as Abusive Head Trauma, is a form of child abuse in which a caregiver vigorously shakes a child, thereby resulting in traumatic brain injury.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: No quick changes with NY marijuana law

    That medical marijuana bill that Gov. Andrew Cuomo signed into law Monday won’t change things overnight. In fact, it may be early 2016 before eligible patients will be able to use the drug.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Massive hunt for killer ended on Grand Island It was a murder destined to be seared into the conscience of this nation.

    July 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Thinking about an earlier era of instability Today's decadence, along with a Niagara gorge-like gulf between so-called Right and Left unfortunately remind one of Germany's Weimar Republic, before Hitler assumed power early in 1933, rapidly becoming a dictator.

    July 6, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Joy Fills Streets of Cleveland As LeBron Returns Proposed Bill to Regulate NY Costumed Characters WH: LeBron's Move a 'Powerful Statement' Ana Ortiz on 'Devious Maids' Finale CDC Addresses Lab Safety Problems Texas Shooting Suspect Collapses in Court Death Toll Tops 100 As Israel Offense Continues LeBron James Says He's Returning to Cavaliers Man Flees Police in World Cup Scalping Scheme Robot Writes Jewish Torah Scroll Raw: Israel, Gaza Exchange Rocket Fire More Immigrants Detained Along Rio Grande World Cup Final Pits Argentina Against Germany Police: Prostitute Linked to 2nd Death Thousands Attend NYC Firefighter's Funeral Art of Haitian Machete Fighting Revived Raw: Australia Hosts Annual Beer Can Regatta Mass. Mayor: Families Lost Everything in Fire Fans Dying to Be Near Jazz Greats Robots Gearing Up for Their Own 'World Cup'
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page