Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 24, 2012

CITY BEAT: Earl's 'two cents'

Niagara Gazette — In the interest of the public good, I’ve decided to yield my weekly column space to Earl A. Frampton, a 74-year-old Eden resident, veteran of the U.S. Navy and retired union worker. 

Frampton sent us a copy of a letter he delivered to President Obama, Vice President Joe Biden and a host of other elected federal officials. 

He had something to say and said it well.

Here’s hoping the rest of you can relate. I sure did. 

Take it away Earl:

“Gentleman, women and leaders of America,

My advice and letter to all of you proud American lawmakers is to leave Social Security, Medicare and Medicaid alone if you cannot improve on it. These three programs should be improved not destroyed by cutting the very benefits I and others worked so hard for, to retire with dignity. It is hard to believe you would take anything away from the American people such as benefits to seniors, retirees, disabled, children and widows, especially service members’ families who died defending the USA.

I am now 74 years old, worked for 50 years of my life, raised four children with my wife, Jeanne, of 72 years and found time in those 50 years to serve my country in the U.S. Navy. 

I have been involved in the U.S. union movement as a president and vice president of a CWA local over 21 years and have always found time to be a community activist as well. Today, I am involved helping retired seniors, union and non-union and veterans, through referrals and hands-on help.

I have done my share of paying all of the taxes required of me locally, statewide and at the federal level and I still continue to pay taxes, so please do not tamper with the big three.

I, like many Americans, feel misused, abused and reused while the high rollers in this country continue to profit while we as middle-class Americans and the working poor go down the drain. Many of us taxpayers wonder why we continue to fund two wars and support every two-bit dictator in the world. We are now building better schoolhouses and roads in foreign countries while ours are falling apart. Why do you continue to cut the budget for re-building our infrastructure, educational programs and creating jobs for the sake of some others who could give a damn less about our way of life?

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Popeye's '7-Minute' guide to educating southerners -- and me! Writer Mark Twain said that when he 14, his father was so ignorant that he could hardly stand to have the old man around. But upon turning 21, Twain said that he was astonished by how much his father had learned in just seven years.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bianco mug 072514 GUESTVIEW: Business First ranking casts Falls in a new light There are those in the community who like to cite Business First's annual rankings of school districts and speak unfavorably about Niagara Falls' low standing.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • CHEERS AND JEERS: The best --Â and worst -- of the week of July 25 It sure sounds like the Buffalo Bills really will be "Living on a Prayer" as far as Western New York is concerned if the team is purchased by the prospective ownership group that includes rocker Jon Bon Jovi.

    July 25, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Wegmans call warns of bad fruit I was humming to myself the other day, getting ready for work on a lovely summer morning, when I decided to check my messages on the house phone. I hit the play button and heard a message from Wegmans warning me about some fruit that I had bought at their store. As quick as that, a message with the scary potential to change my life or the life of someone I love.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Ortt jumps on drive to repeal the SAFE Act It was a no-brainer for North Tonawanda Mayor Rob Ortt, a Republican candidate for the 62nd Senate District seat, to join the forces to repeal the state's SAFE Act.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Delaying refuse law really just makes situation worse It's obvious the rollout of the city's new refuse and recyclables collection program has caused confusion and consternation among some city residents and business owners.

    July 24, 2014

  • NIA Giannetti, Robert mug 072414 GUEST VIEW: Village of Lewiston parking issues related to Artpark need to be addressed On Artpark nights, the South Fourth Street area and many other parts of the Village of Lewiston are covered with pop-up parking lots on residential lawns that operate in spite of existing zoning laws prohibiting commercial activity.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Tourists attracted here by history, beauty, politics As my friend and colleague, writer Don Glynn has so artfully portrayed over the decades, "For many years after the dawn of aviation, U.S. presidents visiting Western New York started at the Niagara Falls Airport. The reason: The main runway here was longer than that of the Buffalo airport and could easily accommodate Air Force One, the presidential aircraft."

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Experience Center vital to tourism here From time immemorial, Niagara tourism leaders have expounded on the need for a first-class orientation center to showcase our assets for the millions of annual visitors here.

    July 23, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page