Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 20, 2012

HAMILTON: Nobody notices the squirrels

Niagara Gazette — The massacre of those little kids at Sandy Hook Elementary School is beyond horror; and in an effort to fix what isn’t broken, the politicians are going to be breaking their necks to further encroach upon the Constitutional rights of free and sane citizens.

They will be clamping down harder upon law-abiding gun owners. The reason being is because nobody notices the squirrels.

That’s right, the squirrels. The phenomenon isn’t without precedent, and I didn’t realize it myself, not until Becky Marchetti returned from her trip to Cancun and exclaimed, “Kenny, there were these iguanas every­where! They were like the squirrels up here.”

We have become so accustomed to the proliferation of “... the squirrels up here” that we don’t pay them much attention, not until a few of them get into our attics, or otherwise make pests of themselves. But there are an awful lot of squirrels around here, as there are also a lot of those among us who have mental or criminal issues that go both unnoticed and untreated. Like the iguanas, we only notice those who are unlike what we are used to seeing, and only when they combine the mental and criminal elements of their issues with a weapon, and then inflict damage upon their neighbors — those neighbors who are more like ourselves, like us squirrels.

It is easy for those who don’t own something to attack it and to call it evil, be it a pit bull or pistol, a Rottweiler or a rifle. That is because those things are somebody else’s iguanas, and not the cute little squirrel that we often feed.

Meanwhile, we have actually fed our real squirrels so much, and for so long, that when I pulled into the empty east parking lot on Niagara Falls’ Goat Island, the squirrels were chasing my car, hoping to get a treat when I parked.

And the sad truth is that we treat too many of our mentally troubled people pretty much like we treat our squirrels. We give them a little something when they seek it, and then we return them back to whence they came — that is, until they become an iguana, and then something like Sandy Hook occurs.

Let’s treat the problem, and not just the symptom.

Contact Ken Hamilton at kenhamilton930@aol.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page