Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 20, 2012

HAMILTON: Nobody notices the squirrels

Niagara Gazette — The massacre of those little kids at Sandy Hook Elementary School is beyond horror; and in an effort to fix what isn’t broken, the politicians are going to be breaking their necks to further encroach upon the Constitutional rights of free and sane citizens.

They will be clamping down harder upon law-abiding gun owners. The reason being is because nobody notices the squirrels.

That’s right, the squirrels. The phenomenon isn’t without precedent, and I didn’t realize it myself, not until Becky Marchetti returned from her trip to Cancun and exclaimed, “Kenny, there were these iguanas every­where! They were like the squirrels up here.”

We have become so accustomed to the proliferation of “... the squirrels up here” that we don’t pay them much attention, not until a few of them get into our attics, or otherwise make pests of themselves. But there are an awful lot of squirrels around here, as there are also a lot of those among us who have mental or criminal issues that go both unnoticed and untreated. Like the iguanas, we only notice those who are unlike what we are used to seeing, and only when they combine the mental and criminal elements of their issues with a weapon, and then inflict damage upon their neighbors — those neighbors who are more like ourselves, like us squirrels.

It is easy for those who don’t own something to attack it and to call it evil, be it a pit bull or pistol, a Rottweiler or a rifle. That is because those things are somebody else’s iguanas, and not the cute little squirrel that we often feed.

Meanwhile, we have actually fed our real squirrels so much, and for so long, that when I pulled into the empty east parking lot on Niagara Falls’ Goat Island, the squirrels were chasing my car, hoping to get a treat when I parked.

And the sad truth is that we treat too many of our mentally troubled people pretty much like we treat our squirrels. We give them a little something when they seek it, and then we return them back to whence they came — that is, until they become an iguana, and then something like Sandy Hook occurs.

Let’s treat the problem, and not just the symptom.

Contact Ken Hamilton at kenhamilton930@aol.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine U.S. Sending Nonlethal Aid to Ukraine Military Holder: Americans Stand With KC Mourners Obama Greets Wounded Warriors Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Franco Leads Star-studded Broadway Cast Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page