Niagara Gazette

Opinion

May 20, 2013

EDITORIAL: Get out and vote in the school elections on Tuesday

Niagara Gazette — We all have some important decisions to make Tuesday. Unfortunately, if recent history is any indication, very few will make the effort.

School budget votes and school board elections are being held at the three local districts and there’s a lot at stake.

All three districts — Lewiston-Porter, Niagara Falls and Niagara-Wheatfield — had a tough time arriving at the budgets residents will be voting on Tuesday. All three districts are looking to raise the tax levy as well.

• Lew-Port is looking at a 5.5 percent increase — and is one of a handful of New York school districts looking to exceed the tax cap, meaning it will need more than 60 percent of voters to approve the plan.

The spending plan does do its fair share of cutting positions in addition to raising taxes, eliminating or reducing 29 positions heading into next school year. Part of a four-year slash in staffing — mainly accomplished through attrition until the current year’s budget called for layoffs — the plan affects several programs throughout each of the district’s four buildings.

• Niagara-Wheatfield threatened to cut its kindergarten program, then backed off and adopted a $62.8 million spending plan that raises the tax levy 5.91 percent. The spending plan does eliminate six teaching jobs after 43 were lost last June and some programs at the schools.

Three candidates are also running for two open seats on the school board.

Despite the tax levy increase being more than Lew-Port’s, the increase in taxes is the maximum percentage Niagara-Wheatfield is allowed under New York’s property tax levy threshold cap, due to exemptions school districts are allowed to factor into cap calculations.

• Niagara Falls is raising taxes for the first time in 20 years but is holding the tax levy increase to 3 percent. The Falls’ maximum percentage increase under the cap is 3.77 percent.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page