Niagara Gazette

Opinion

May 20, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Seneca Niagara Casino is all we need

Niagara Gazette — Sometimes I wonder what people are thinking about. I hear and read about people chastising the Seneca-run casino in Niagara Falls. Now our illustrious governor is suggesting another casino bound for the Niagara area, using the excuse that “until the Seneca dispute is resolved.

Mr. Governor, you and some of your Albany cronies are creating the dispute by not honoring the agreement between the state and the Seneca’s in the first place. As I am told, the state has violated the “treaty” or contract with the Senecas by authorizing racinos. Now, the governor comes in with another pipe dream that goes something like this: “Lets bluff those people and tell them if they don’t pay up, we’ll build more casinos and put the hurt on them, then use taxpayer dollars to do it.”

Pure intimidation if you can’t see what he’s doing. Our governor already knows to do anything like that a referendum needs to be put before the voters for approval and if the first proposal is turned down by the taxpayers, another can be brought before the voters next year, which will give the lawmakers another chance to pry into the taxpayers pockets again. This has been done before several years ago in case you don’t remember, and the taxpayers/voters turned it down back then.

Some complain and cry that the casino has hurt their businesses. I have heard, “how can I compete with selling food in my restaurant? They don’t have to charge sales tax!” Hogwash. Everyone doesn’t go to the casino to eat, especially to save on sales tax! Besides, you better have a wallet full of money; they aren’t the least expensive place to go to eat. I heard the talk show guy on WLVL radio saying “look at the area around the casino, it is all run down, and renovations on Third Street has done absolutely nothing for the area.” Tell me, is that the casinos fault? Hogwash, There were bars, coffee shops & restaurants in that immediate block on Niagara between Third and Fourth streets that thrived before the people that owned those businesses retired or died. The buildings were left to rot, and should be bulldozed now. Is that the casino’s fault? Is it the casinos fault that those businesses could not adjust like Players Lounge has done so well on the corner of Fourth and Niagara?

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Scheer, Mark mug CITY DESK: Hobel will be missed

    Lost in all the hoopla surrounding last week’s announced retirement of state Sen. George Maziarz, R-Newfane, was the loss of another well-known figure in local government and politics.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: More pastors, a new church and more of everything Before I go further back in time, I want to just go back to last week where I took my own advice and spent a couple of hours at the Como, where I enjoyed one of their traditional "parade of bowls and plates of great salads, pasta and meat dishes" and listened to longtime friends of Tom Darro roast him with humor, accolades and best wishes. And best of all no one who came to the microphone mentioned garbage totes or carts. It was a welcome relief.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Time is of the essence in Maziarz probe Voters in the 62nd district and elsewhere across the state deserve the ability to make an educated decision about any candidates who take money from Maziarz while he still has the ability to dole it out.

    July 21, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Border Patrol chief examines deadly acts A former Buffalo police chief now has the formidable task of reviewing cases where border agents have used deadly force.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Nostalgia for nostalgia: Where will it end? Not only has there been a huge nostalgia boom in America, but we're now getting to the point where there's much nostalgia for nostalgia! Maybe signifying that nostalgia will wear itself out, or, as in the old adage, that it ain't what it used to be?

    July 20, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Barracks site solved -- let's get something else moving The New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation heard the community loud and clear this time.

    July 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Driven to distraction by recent incidents For reasons best left unexplained, Doug drives home from Niagara Falls at twilight many nights, usually alone. It's about 10 miles, 15 minutes, from pressbox to driveway. He exits I-190 at the Beaver Island ramp, hugging its right edge in deference to any mainstream traffic, which would be coming downhill from the left at a 140-degree angle.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Opinion sig CHEERS & JEERS: The best - and worst - of the week for July 19

    This paving season has been like no other thanks to a particularly rough winter.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Council, administrative hypocrisy, and that is the gospel truth If there isn't a walk-on resolution on the Niagara Falls City Council's upcoming last agenda before the August recess to change the zoning back to what it was prior to the South End Niagara Gospel Rescue Mission opening its hearts and doors, then the city council should just cease its hypocritical practice of even saying prayers before the meeting.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page