Niagara Gazette

Opinion

May 19, 2013

GLYNN: 'Bums Park' short walk from falls

Niagara Gazette — Shame on those for allowing a couple of properties within walking distance of the nation’s oldest state park to deteriorate to skid row status. There’s plenty of blame to share. 

The land in question borders Niagara and Third streets, next to the Bank of America. Originally owned by the former Niagara County Savings Bank, then under the astute management of the late Jack Orr, the site included an impressive tower clock that also updated the temperature, a small amphitheater, clean benches and a fountain that eventually fell victim to vandals. Not long after it was dedicated, derelicts started to camp out in the shed mostly hidden from passersby at the busy intersection. Sensitive to its location — two blocks from the state park and the Rainbow Bridge — Orr tried hard to maintain the premises but the once picturesque parcel was doomed by littering, relentless vandalism, and people just hanging out until the bars opened. It was indeed a blotch on the welcome mat here. Before long, it became known as ‘Bums Park,’ appropriate for the stench, high weeds and grimy fountain clogged with debris and soap suds.

Subsequently, the two connected parcels were purchased by the DiCienzo family of Niagara Falls, Ont., with plans for a hotel that never came to fruition.  Operating as the Canadian Niagara Hotels developer, the DiCienzos own eight hotels on the Canadian side, plus the Rainforest Cafe, Planet Hollywood and the sprawling complex that includes Casino Niagara, opposite the entrance to the Rainbow Bridge. Under attack for ignoring the site, the DiCienzos agreed to pay a group of volunteers on this side of the river to cut the grass, pull the weeds and add some plantings. Again, for a number of reasons, that wasn’t an answer.

The DiCienzos, who also own the downtown Days Inn and the Sheraton at the Falls (the former Crowne Plaza hotel) are committed to investments estimated at $50 million for hotels and attractions on this side of the border. Mayor Paul Dyster is quick to note they have a huge commitment in this Cataract City and they don’t intend to walk away from their obligations.  

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page