Niagara Gazette

Opinion

May 19, 2013

GLYNN: 'Bums Park' short walk from falls

Niagara Gazette — Shame on those for allowing a couple of properties within walking distance of the nation’s oldest state park to deteriorate to skid row status. There’s plenty of blame to share. 

The land in question borders Niagara and Third streets, next to the Bank of America. Originally owned by the former Niagara County Savings Bank, then under the astute management of the late Jack Orr, the site included an impressive tower clock that also updated the temperature, a small amphitheater, clean benches and a fountain that eventually fell victim to vandals. Not long after it was dedicated, derelicts started to camp out in the shed mostly hidden from passersby at the busy intersection. Sensitive to its location — two blocks from the state park and the Rainbow Bridge — Orr tried hard to maintain the premises but the once picturesque parcel was doomed by littering, relentless vandalism, and people just hanging out until the bars opened. It was indeed a blotch on the welcome mat here. Before long, it became known as ‘Bums Park,’ appropriate for the stench, high weeds and grimy fountain clogged with debris and soap suds.

Subsequently, the two connected parcels were purchased by the DiCienzo family of Niagara Falls, Ont., with plans for a hotel that never came to fruition.  Operating as the Canadian Niagara Hotels developer, the DiCienzos own eight hotels on the Canadian side, plus the Rainforest Cafe, Planet Hollywood and the sprawling complex that includes Casino Niagara, opposite the entrance to the Rainbow Bridge. Under attack for ignoring the site, the DiCienzos agreed to pay a group of volunteers on this side of the river to cut the grass, pull the weeds and add some plantings. Again, for a number of reasons, that wasn’t an answer.

The DiCienzos, who also own the downtown Days Inn and the Sheraton at the Falls (the former Crowne Plaza hotel) are committed to investments estimated at $50 million for hotels and attractions on this side of the border. Mayor Paul Dyster is quick to note they have a huge commitment in this Cataract City and they don’t intend to walk away from their obligations.  

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page