Niagara Gazette

Opinion

May 16, 2013

GLYNN: Cuomo puts a different spin on Albany meetings

Niagara Gazette — Like him or not, Gov. Andrew Cuomo can never be criticized for not thinking outside the box.

Take his strategy, for example, to host important an gathering in Albany. It deserves a lofty label, in his mind, something much more than just a one-day meeting or conference. Cuomo prefers “summit,” as in international peace talks. It’s the kind of term that conjures up thoughts of the White House or 10 Downing St.

In case you didn’t hear, the “Tourism Summit” at which he presided last week was the third in a series that he has held  in the last nine months, according to the New York Times. Guests were treated to a wide range of goodies including the popular biscotti from DiCamillo’s Bakery in the Cataract City. Before the tourist industry officials, including John Percy of the Niagara Tourism & Convention Corp., descended on the capital, scores of people were invited to a ‘Yogurt Summit,’ to discuss that industry’s issues in the Empire State. (The governor had to be embarrassed when they ran out of spoons at the freebie). Next on the agenda was the Wine Beer and Spirits Summit in October, complete with a happy hour at the Executive Mansion. One upstate newspaper headlined the story with “Booze Summit Serves Up Ideas.” 

•••

POPULAR SPOT: Niagara County products have a significant presence at the Elmwood-Bidwell Farmers Market in Buffalo that opened Saturday. The market at Elmwood Avenue and Bidwell Parkway will be open every Saturday, from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. until Dec. 21, rain or shine.

Tom Tower’s Farm, Lockport Road, Youngstown (Rt. 93) is featured in the introduction to the market’s Web page. Other growers and vendors from tis ounty include the Dan Tower Market, Lake Road; Niagara Landing & Wine Cellar, Cambria; and the O’Connor Family Greenhouse, Lake Road, Ransomville. Coordinated by the Elmwood Village Association, it is a producer-only market, requiring all vendors to grow or produce what they sell. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Fire Engulfs Tower Block in China Ocean Drones Making Waves in Research World Breakfast Foods Are Getting Pricier Raw: Ferry Captain Received Medical Treatment Hundreds Gather for Denver Pot Rally on Easter Transcript Reveals Confusion in Ferry Evacuation Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page