Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 29, 2013

HIGGS: Past personal connections and two connected schools

Niagara Gazette — Where did April go? I guess time flies when you’re having fun.

Working on the Beautify Niagara event is always fun as I encounter so many wonderful people in and around our city. Writing these columns is also fun for the same reason. I received a telephone call from Dale Flagler who lives in the Gowanda area. He told me he went to 5th Street School and South Junior and his family lived across the street from 5th Street School.

He said my story brought back memories of when he attended 7th, 8th and 9th grades at South Junior and when I asked him if he something to share like maybe a girlfriend or other friends he surprised me. I always knew Western New York people always have something in common but this was close to home for me. He said yes, he had a sort of girlfriend who lived on Augustus Place where I now live and her name was Kathleen Lake. Dale graduated form NFHS in 1964 and worked as a repairman with New York Telephone Company and Kathleen was a teacher at Lockport High School following her college education. More research led me to find that Dale was married to Sharon in the early 1970s and Kathy as I know her today married a young attorney, Ralph Boniello III, around the same time. He went on to become a Supreme Court Justice and I was on his staff for a few very pleasant years until my retirement. Small world isn’t it?

We now pay a visit to North Junior High School and the new Cleveland Avenue School as they are intertwined. Construction was started in 1922 at Cleveland Avenue and 15th Street on the North Junior High school. The work was completed in the spring of 1923 and at that time all the classrooms, furnishings, equipment and students from the original Cleveland Avenue School were moved to North Junior, where they remained until June 1925. Elmer Knowles was the principal at this time.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page