Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 29, 2013

CITY DESK: The voice of the fans

Niagara Gazette — In my parents’ house, Larry Felser was practically like family.

He never stopped by or anything. We didn’t exchange Christmas cards. In fact, sadly, the Scheers never even met the man. 

Thanks to my father — a voracious newspaper reader — the late, great Buffalo News columnist was a fixture in our living room and at our kitchen table. His weekly observations served as fodder for countless conversations and serious debates about our beloved Buffalo Bills and Sabres. 

To say Felser was great is an understatement. 

To me, an aspiring journalist, Felser was a hero, a true source of inspiration. 

The News put it best when they described him as “iconic.”  

Generations of Western New York sports fans who grew up reading Felser, being educated by him, laughing with him and, of course, enduring the tremendous pain that has become synonymous with rooting for anything Buffalo in the world of sports in recent years. 

A former colleague of mine who now works at the Buffalo News once told me Felser had an uncanny knack for being able to write for space.

In other words: He rarely exceeded the number of words allowed.

What impressed this person most was how, regardless of the deadline or how much he may have had to say on a given topic, Felser so often managed to say it — just right — within 20 or so inches of column space. 

I can tell you, that’s no easy task and, for the great ones, like Felser, it’s a gift. 

From my perspective as a reader and a fan, Felser almost always seemed to get it just right. I’m not talking about facts or statistics. I’m talking something much more complex to express in words — things like tone and context and tempo. 

After Bills games, particularly after losses, my father and I would rush to read Felser’s columns to find out what really happened.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page