Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 23, 2012

Editorial: Rate presidential debate format

Niagara Gazette — The televised presidential debates are over, and we hope voters will take what they learned from those forums and from articles they have read in newspapers and other reputable sources to make an informed decision in this close race.

With three types of format and different moderators, the debates between President Barack Obama and Gov. Mitt Romney each had their own flavor.

The first took place in Denver and focused on domestic policy. It was divided into six time segments of about 15 minutes each, with topics selected by moderator Jim Lehrer of PBS's "Newshour" and announced several weeks before the debate. Each segment opened with a question, which each candidate had two minutes to answer. The moderator used the rest of the time to steer discussion.

The problem was that Lehrer had a tough time controlling Obama and Romney, who stood at separate podiums and frequently interrupted each other, talked past their allotted time and didn't really answer the questions.

The second debate, in Hempstead, NY, had a town-meeting-style format, which allowed citizens to ask the candidates questions on foreign and domestic issues. Romney and Obama each had two minutes to respond, with an additional minute for the moderator to further the discussion.

The candidates were both roaming the center floor, and when the discussion heated up and Obama and Romney approached each other, viewers were left wondering if some shoving might occur. The moderator was Candy Crowley, CNN chief political correspondent, and while she did a better job of cutting off the candidates when they exceeded their time, she also overstepped her boundaries as a journalist by confirming something Obama said about his wording at a news conference. She should have left that to the post-debate fact-checkers.

The final debate took place Monday night at in Boca Raton, Fla. With a focus on foreign policy, this debate had a format exactly like the first, except that the candidates sat in chairs across from moderator Bob Schieffer. The discussion, although heated at times, came across as much more civil. Maybe it was because Romney and Obama were seated just a couple of feet from each other. Maybe it was because they knew, by then, that viewers would be counting how many times they interrupted each other. Maybe it was that Schieffer, host of "Face the Nation" on CBS, carries more respect and did a better job maintaining control.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page