Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 18, 2012

HAMILTON: Where is Jesse Jackson in this campaign?

Niagara Gazette — Why is it that no one has seen or heard of Jesse Jackson out campaigning for the reelection of President Barack Obama?

Could it be that his years of successfully teaching black people to vote for the Democrat, especially if it is a black Democrat, has paid off and that it is not necessary for him to do so; or because Obama doesn’t want him to do so in Obama’s ‘post racial’ America — or is it simply because he is not truly supporting Obama?

I suggest the latter.

Obama’s Justice Department is currently investigating ailing congressman and namesake son of the civil rights leader, Jesse Jackson Jr. for allegedly trying to purchase the president’s former Illinois federal Senate seat; the same seat for which they put Rod Blagojevich in jail for so doing. The senior Jackson would prefer that his son does not become Blago’s cellmate. But why is the Justice Department now investigating Jackson at election time? Are they trying to portrait Obama as truly “post-racial”, as he has self-proclaimed America to be — and that there is no better way of demonstrating him as such than for them to find a high-profile black person to prove that both we and he are indeed post-racial?

I am sure that his support given to Latinos and gays contrasted with Obama’s lack of carrying out anything remotely similar to a “black agenda” has angered Jackson, as well as many other blacks who are not too ashamed to admit it.

Furthermore, Jackson is probably still stinging from the snubbing he’s gotten from his fellow Chicagoan in not even being offered a position as an ambassador — despite Jackson’s 1983 proven ability to negotiate with Syrian President Bashar al- Assad to free Navy Lt. Robert O. Goodman, who was shot down over Syria doing exactly what Assad’s own air force is doing to his own country. Based on that event, one has to wonder where Syria would be today, if Jackson was our ambassador to that country.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine U.S. Sending Nonlethal Aid to Ukraine Military Holder: Americans Stand With KC Mourners Obama Greets Wounded Warriors Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Franco Leads Star-studded Broadway Cast Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page