Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 15, 2012

HIGGS: Wait! There's more to cheer about

Niagara Gazette — Last week I told about my experience with the Urban Land institute Foundation and their week-long visit to Niagara Falls to tour, meet some interested stakeholders and offer some suggestions. It was all about some possible reuse for the inside of the former Rainbow Centre.

They talked about a flexible structure with smaller tenant spaces, safe parking, breaking up the building and returning it to human scale. They state malls nationwide are shutting down, reimagining themselves and removing the concrete block look. Of course this would involve opening up the upper levels with the use of glass enclosures to let daylight inside and allow people outside to see the inside and what there is to offer. That last one is long overdue.

The panel did not stop with just the building reuse. The architects in the group displayed easy to understand diagrams of new street extensions, pedestrian elements, improved public spaces and plazas where there would be something on or around every corner and positive signage was also discussed.

My interest peaked when they mentioned extending Mayor Michael O’Laughlin Street all the way to Rainbow Boulevard, passing through the Rainbow Centre creating a covered pedestrian walkway to lure visitors from the state park into the city via another path and the reverse. Along this walkway would be entrances to the centre itself, plus small shops and eating establishments with outdoor capabilities. parking would remain as it is and perhaps be extended to the roof. How about solar panels up there?

One panel member stated the first view the visitor from Canada has of the U.S. is not inspiring or encouragement for a longer stay.

Traffic needs to flow better, directing visitors out of the state park into the city via Old Falls Street or the proposed extended O’Laughlin Street. This would encourage development of the former Teletech building and create circulation of visitors throughout the area.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Author Gabriel Garcia Marquez Dead at 87 Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page